1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's up with Nvidia's drivers lately?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by hat, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've been crashing in Darkplaces (an advanced engine for Quake) and Alien Swarm recently. The video cuts out, the audio plays the last sound byte before the crash... I've tested the stability of my video card for 2.5 hours in the OCCT GPU test, and I've even reinstalled Windows, and all of this still happens. I have the latest drivers.

    It seems to me that Nvidia's been releasing shit drivers recently, I see no other viable explanation for this.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    I have had major HDMI driver problems with Mafia 2, bought it months ago and have played more than 10 minutes.

    Although their latest package does have a better looking installation and more included updates.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, they do have a nicer installer, but that doesn't help when the drivers can't actually do anything without crapping out.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    If that (FW drivers being bad) is true, we are not allowed anymore to complain about bad AMD drivers, as we (i.e. both nV and AMD card owners) all sit in the same ship. Why does that sound so nice, even though it is annoying too?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    the only driver i have an issue with is the 262.99,and most of that is my own fault for modding the INF. With 260.99 i havent any issues.
  6. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,211 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,436
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Though i dont own an NV card currently, I'd like to say that sometimes it's not just the drivers. There can be other compatibility problems, whether it's soundcards, on board audio and the like.

    But it is a sad fact that both camps release drivers that aren't flawless for all.
  7. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    652 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    DarkPlaces and Mafia 2 are running fine for me. (OpenCL/CUDA drivers 263.06) GTX 460 1GB (900/1000) with two 5770s doing nothing.
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    We have no problem with discussion of driver issues. It's pointless whining and unconstructive threads/posts that we tend to frown on.

    @Hat : I know that you tested your card's stability at your current OC, but have you tried dropping back to stock just to check?
  9. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,211 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,436
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Would the 550W psu have probs running overclocked hardware? Your memory, cpu and gfx card are all overclocked - it's a thought.
  10. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    It about impossible for any company to replicate every situation any single person would go through with drivers. So its not really sad that the drivers arent flawless,The only sad part is when there is known bugs that cant be fixed after 6 driver hotfixes
  11. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,211 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,436
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    *cough...eyefinity display cursor corruption...cough*
    AthlonX2 says thanks.
  12. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,310 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    AZ
    haven't had an issue with nv drivers for a while, to be true it's been a bit since I've updated them.
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I could, but the problem is intermittent, which makes it very hard to verify one way or the other...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Intermittent problems are always the worst and always a PITA.
    You would have to run for awhile at stock to be sure, but it may be worth the effort.
    Just my 2 cents. ;)
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    :banghead:
    Ran at stock, game ran fine for about an hour. Played with clocks, eventually back to full overclock... still fine for about a good hour's worth of gameplay.

    I think I'm gonna chalk this one up to gremlins.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Cratzky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Put everything in your system back to stock before complaining tbh....

    It might just be an overclock that got unstable due to degradation.
    It can be your CPU, it can be your GPU, it can even be your PSU.
    If you have overclocked the memory, it can be the memory...

    It can be data corruption due to unstable motherboard..... then it can work some time, to crash, and sometimes it crashes all the time... thats called data corruption in the transfer between internal components.

    And its kinda common that PSU's degrades faster then anything else in the system, especially when its pushed due to overclocking with overvolted components.
  17. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    well apparently intel makes the best drivers lately :roll: i guess hell is frozen over and apocalypse is imminent
    Crusader says thanks.
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've tested my overclocks. My video card ran 2.5 hours in OCCT GPU with 0 errors, and it handles OCCT Linpack for 6 hours without error. The problem is intermittent. I played Darkplaces overclocked for hours, then closed it, started it back up again a bit later and it crashed in 5 minutes. As for Alien Swarm, I know 2 other people personally who have Nvidia cards, don't overclock and have the problem in that game.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Cratzky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    If you know more people that has same problem with same game, then its the game that has a bug
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I also know some people who run Darkplaces and don't have the issue with it... but I can run stability tests on my system until the end of time and not error out.

    I think it might be time to give memtest a good run... it's the only test I haven't run yet (recently... I ran it when I first added the 2x512mb kit to my 2x2gb kit at 1000MHz and it passed then).

    *ed- Seems like Darkplaces still wants to crash at stock, but it doesn't actually crash... it just chokes to super poor performance for a few seconds. There is still a bug somewhere...
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Try downgrading drivers?
  22. techie81

    techie81 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    70 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bay Area
    No issues here on a GT 240. I did have a problem before with my LG LCD but it seems they have fixed the scaling issue.
  23. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i guess the problem could from driver but its kinda strange, it only happen on these game? maybe downgrade the driver then make all to their default

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page