1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's up with Origin

Discussion in 'Games' started by Champ, Mar 16, 2014.

  1. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    839 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    So I just bright a couple of games to test my system and they require origin for activation. This is my first time dealing with this. Its not working. Service is unavailable was the message. I brought a physical CD so I don't understand why I have to go online. From what i've read, origin is/was a half done effort on EAs part. I try to be nice and not fly my pirate flag and this is what I get. I'm trying to install NSF Most Wanted and I have BF4. Probably gonna be the same time
  2. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,845 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    You nailed it with the 6th sentence lol.
    Champ says thanks.
  3. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    841 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Keep trying. If it still doesn't work, their online chat has been very responsive when I've used it. Not sure if it is staffed on the weekends tho.
    Champ says thanks.
  4. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    297 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Location:
    Nebulas
    Download the latest version of origin then login with your EA account, then install the games. I dislike all these interfaces from the game publishers. What can you do but use them if you wish to play their games.

    After everything is installed just select offline mode when you play.
    Champ says thanks.
  5. Scheich

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    With so much finger in your face u still want to activate ? You sure ???
  6. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    839 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    That maybe the prob. This game is from 2012-13
  7. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Do games need an expiration date now? :(
  8. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    839 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I might have spoken too soon. I still having a hard time get the client software to update itself. I loks like it will finally go thru now thou
  9. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    839 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    So i finally got it to install and now its telling me I need to download the game. This cd is 6.5 gigs. Whats on it? My internet is too slow to dl that game. I'm taking both back if I can't find a way around this
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,415 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Which game? If BF4, it is probably 6.5 GB of updates. If Most Wanted, start the install process via the disk, not Origin. The disk will invoke Origin and Origin will start copying files from the disk, then patch (if necessary).
    Champ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    839 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I need tech support because it will only download the game.

    Found a solution, but it's so unnecessary. I have to essentially trick origin into thinking it downloaded the files by taking some steps to copy the files off the CD and putting them i the directory. Maybe I'll be playing in a couple of hours
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2014
  12. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    839 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    This worked for BF4. I'm not too fond of this Origin thing.
  13. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    841 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    A lot of people aren't. May be better to just buy the games in digital form in the future. I haven't had an issue doing it this way.
    Champ says thanks.
  14. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,123 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    I just wanted to say, I had to type "I will not troll and laugh" ten times in order to NOT post a bad post.
    Good luck with the issue. Hate Origin.
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,641 (7.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Don't get me wrong, I hate EA and everything they stand for because of the amount of developers they have ruined with money, but does anyone here remember when Steam first started out? As I recall, it was bloody awful, but with the last 10 years it's improved to be the most successful gaming distributor/service on the interwebz. I'm not saying Origin is capable of catching up, EA are evil and will never put anything good on sale for less tthan 90% RRP, but just remember. Steam sucked as much as Origin too when it was a babby.
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,157 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,654
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Next time put origins into off line mode, and it will install off the disk. :toast:
    Champ, rtwjunkie and RCoon say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. kalstrand

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    43 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I first used Steam because my ati radeon 9800xt came with Half Life 2 and required Steam. You are correct at the time Steam was horrible. It was many years later before I actually started to use it because of my experience with it in its early form.
  18. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    297 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Location:
    Nebulas
    You are making this more diff than it is. Best thing to do is download a copy of origin online, install it and let it update. Then insert the CD/DVD and execute the .exe file. Then it will launch origin if not already running and install from the CD. After that BF4 will install a huge amount of patches.
  19. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,157 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,654
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    If he doesn't put it into off line mode then it will still try to download the latest version. When he put's origins into off line mode and installs the game from the disc then the most he'll have to download will be just updates once he puts it back into On line mode. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    297 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Location:
    Nebulas
    I never have to put origin in offline mode to install a game from my DVD/ ROM, it just installed from the disc, then it downloads the updates.
  21. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,157 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,654
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Well obviously it's not working for the OP, but I'm glad it worked for you buddy. Either way we have given him plenty of options, hopefully he will let us know something.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page