1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

whats up with the ads?

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by Fitseries3, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    [​IMG]

    Guys honestly how luck am I :D? Guaranteed winner! AND ITS NOT EVEN A JOKE! :)! (I mean it cant lie, its the internet)

    lol, I dont have a problem with the ads, as long as there is that option in user CP that disables those vibrant ads :D

    Attached Files:

  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    YAY!!!!!!!!!!! you won!!!!!!!!!!!!! wooo hoooo!!!!

    .....

    wait.... wtf did you win?
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I KNOW HOW GOOD IS IT :D

    I dno, if I am lucky I might get a free pack of spyware :)

    Lol na thats a good thing about the ads...they dont have rubbish attached to them (well, at least I hope not :p)
  4. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Lol u lucky mongel Pinchy mon i never see stoof like that heheh :rolleyes::eek::laugh:
  5. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I dont mind them as much here. Least they arnt as they are like on toms hardware where while your reading the words are popups themselves! Though most are tech related at least.
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,450 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I've added exceptions to the Ad-Block Extension. You can do so and help support TPU. It's only a few hundred milliseconds' load time. At least TPU isn't forcing you to disable Ad-Block the way some other sites with heavy ads do.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    the ads dont bother me. it's the once a week popup that bothers me. i seem to be the only person with this problem however i have determined that it is not my computer by witnessing the same thing happen on a number of freshly installed computers.
  8. Katanai

    Katanai

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    943 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Well I wouldn't mind the adds, I usually don't even notice them BUT something must be done about the ones on the top of the page. They actually over lapse on the TPU banner which is not cool at all. I know that most of you have wide screens so this isn't an issue but I like to surf at 1024/768 because most sites are intended for that resolution or the lower 800/600. I know that there are a lot of people out there who still use this resolution and having an add pop up over the logo of the front page is annoying to say the least...
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,796 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,502
    whats your suggestion for the situation where the logo + ad are wider than the available screen space?
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,450 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Look at the frame that holds the Zotac ad:

    [​IMG]

    I shrunk the window and the Zotac frame shrunk by itself and since Shockwave/Flash objects are scalable, the ad adjusted itself. Encourage Flash content on the top ad. With frame shrink (in small screens), the ad shrinks and still looks neat.
  11. Katanai

    Katanai

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    943 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    A. Make the adds smaller.
    I don't know if that's an option tho...

    B. Make the logo smaller
    ( I wouldn't do that myself)

    C. A hybrid solution.
    Make the current logo blend into the background and use a smaller one on the left side. Something like they have on gametrailers.com

    ;D. Put that red TPU button on the top right side of the ads and when you press it they get closed.
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,450 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The beauty of an ad service is that they post ads specific to the user's geographic region. For example, I get this one:

    [​IMG]

    Pretty decent. In fact it could catch many hits due to the demographic of our user/visitor base. Lot of fresh blood :)
  13. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    The ads don't bother me, I think it's a small price to pay to have such a good site, a few ads are to be expected cheesy or not.
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,450 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    TPU isn't puking ads at you, those are just 3~4 frames. Compare that to some other tech sites that have at least 800 KB of Flash based adverts on the homepage.
    wiak says thanks.
  15. monohouse New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yhea, I almost totally forgot about those, a good thing. sometimes I don't notice how much bandwidth not having flash in the browser saves me, not to mention the loading times of the pages.
    that is why I am here, speculating that is also why you are here also. luckily to me it's just a matter of choice, I don't see any banners on any site anyways, but if I didn't have that option and I knew of another tech site that DOESN"T have any banners, I wouldn't visit it any more than that one time. TPU is a good exception (relatively), but they could have done better (absolutely). I didn't even know they had any banners until now.
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2008
  16. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,744 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    i agree
    lol some sites takes ages to download
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,450 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Ever visited TweakTown with the Ad-Blocker enabled?
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,450 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Shockwave/Flash Ads ftw

    [​IMG]
  19. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Just checked what one they got going for me now Gamerswear lol yeah right hehe

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page