1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's your boot time?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by rickss69, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah I am having too much fun just painted the room and got it all back to normal today and well found this and well I fixed my stake . :slap:
    Yeah I never have that on any way seemed to slow my computers down so always left it off .
    Great guide I will look into this thank you ! Man I want to see if I can get lower now I see a 37 in here !
    To be totally honest I think my E-Peen just hit a new high seeing a core i7 Extreme 6 CORE CPU ! OMG I am just drooolllling right now and that it is 2 seconds faster than mine on boot up wow ! I just felt it all there !
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    Not bad for "old hardware"

    [​IMG]
     
    rickss69 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    well it's not a I7 and it doesnt have a SSD
     
    rickss69 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Rig1 in system spec. I'll try rig2 later.

    [​IMG]
     
    rickss69 says thanks.
  6. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    OC seems to have little to no effect here...me thinks cpu makes no difference here. ;)


    [​IMG]
     
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    So put an SSD in and see the speed feel the speed be the speed . man your system is in need of one . you will think twice .
     
    rickss69 says thanks.
  8. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  9. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Tricks, it's an old SuperTalent 32GB...not sure if it's even available anymore. I will try to find some more info on it for you.


    [​IMG]
     
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    What do you mean by old ? Because it sure looks fast .
     
  11. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Here is the data sheet... http://www.supertalent.com/datasheets/6_155.pdf They are very old...I would be willing to bet if I sat down and really tweaked it times would drop.

    I will have a Vertex 2 60GB here next week and we will see what it is capable of. :)
     
  12. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Here my boot on my laptop:
    [​IMG]
    Not bad for laptop HDD:rockout:
     
    rickss69 says thanks.
  13. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    I changed a few boot settings in BIOS and shut down Turbo V and managed to shave 12 seconds off the previous time. This is still a dual boot setup plus I have to log on.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    nice to see you got some thing out of your tweak . I found that if you just have a striped down version of your os it can shave tons off I am not going to do that just to shave some time off boot but man fast is fast and the low - upper 30's for start time is kinda cool .

    OH to add one more thing this is more to do with your SSD or HDD set up . So please also give your HDD and / or SSD drive information as well . It would help .
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  15. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    wow!! mine is terrible!! mine is 156 seconds!!! i have no idea why mine is so much longer, the boot drive is a WD500AAKS driver its older like before they started WD black, WD blue, WD green etc but no bad sectors etc etc
     
  16. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,832 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    Here is mine. I definately want an SSD. :(

    [​IMG]
     
  17. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I would have thought by now someone here would have blown me out of the water. 39 seconds for the gamer and 36 for the bench rig so far...so what is it about my set-up that seems to be having this effect? The two rigs I tested could not be further apart in configuration...both run with no tweaks what so ever.

    Gamer:

    Intel i5 670
    Evga P55 FTW
    HDDBoost w/32GB ssd
    WD 1T Black hdd (OS installed)
    Win7 64 Pro

    Bench Rig:

    Intel 980X
    Evga Classified
    32GB ssd (OS installed)
    Tiny 7
     
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Again all this comes to is really how fast the drive really is and your CPU / RAM but mostly How fast your drives are and how fast they can load the drivers that your system requires and any other stuff you have that run at start up . Tweaked in this sense is only relative to the load one puts on a given system at start up . So one system may have a faster boot time due to a bios setting not needing to be checked or a file that you have on one may not be on another so there are multiple reasons why one is faster than another . one thing I know for sure is no 2 computers are alike .
     
  19. filip007

    filip007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Here you go...

    [​IMG]

    That was 31.40s on my 200€ Ubuntu system.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  20. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I understand that, but you can see by my screens that niether of the two pc's were optimized in any way and had completely different OS installs. The only common factor between the two was that tiny 32GB ssd...and not even the same ssd! Only a four second spread between the two set-up's...:confused:
     
  21. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,778 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
  22. Hardi

    Hardi

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    [​IMG]

    Win7 x64, Athlon X3 435, 4GB DDR2, Samsung F3 500GB
     
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,789 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    [​IMG]
    WELL YOU CAN SEE THE SPECS HERE.
    <---------------------

    shutting down is longer for my rig.
     
  24. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    The problem is every one thinks this is some how cpu related and as it may very well be it is more dependent on what your drives are and how fast they are more than CPU .
    Just a side note is all . simply post what kind of drive it is nothing more .
     
  25. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    ^ Agreed - Virtually no difference between my i5 670 and i7 980X. ;)
     
    trickson says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page