1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's your Diablo 3 fps?

Discussion in 'Games' started by niko084, May 16, 2012.

  1. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Curious what type of performance everyone is getting?
    Given a short brief on system details. :toast:
     
  2. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    If I could login and play, I'd report back with my FPS.
     
  3. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Diablo is a pretty old game, so it runs at more than 3 fps on my system.

    (Lame, I know but I couldn't resist punning your title)
     
  4. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    would flat out to consistent 120fps (with heavy scenes going to the 60s - 90s), but then it gets tearing for reasons uknown. Thats why I just turn on vsync (but makes it cap to 60 fps ???)
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Everything maxed out I get about 25% utilization on each card(HD6950 Crossfire), with frames capped @ 60 FPS. Keeps the cards nice and cool. ;)
     
  6. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,098 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Location:
    Kansas
    [​IMG]
     
  7. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
  8. SlayerJC

    SlayerJC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    60 fps with vsync on.
     
  9. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    its ment to cap at 60FPS with a 60 hz monitor.



    i get solid 59/60 fps.... however it still jerks/jitters a fair bit for no apparent reason. likely driver problem.
     
  10. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    10-60 fps. It's mostly at 60fps but sometimes there are really big slowdowns.
     
  11. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,215 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    really with your setup? damn. Didnt realize it was that demanding.
     
  12. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Its certain parts of the game that does it, likely have something to do with the CPU Physics this game uses.
     
  13. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    529 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Not sure but every thing seems to be running smooth @ 60fps synced with tripple buffering. Q9550 @3.4ghz, 4g ddr800 And 5870.
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,050 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,954
    like 200 fps, 16x12 windowed, specs on the left. drops down to 100 in some cases with 4 people and 894564985 monsters and effects on screen

    ctrl+r shows fps in game btw
     
    Mussels, hellrazor, yogurt_21 and 3 others say thanks.
  15. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
  16. Hanam

    Hanam New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I capped mine at 100 fps (just because). For some reason in "Fullscreen", my crossfire goes in reverse and GPU2 seems to want to take over and give me 20 fps. I fixed this issue by going into "Fullscreen Windowed Mode". COME ON ANDREW D WHERE MY CROSSFIRE PROFILE AT???

    I'm pretty sure a potato could run this game fine. (Provided you don't have two potatoes in crossfire)
     
  17. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I have a 6850m with i7 2600k, and am getting 50-80 maxed out.

    The problem is, if I don't turn V-Sync on my computer overheats (this is a laptop, but does not overheat on anything else)

    Blizzard is known to produce this issue in their games, I know that Starcraft II had this issue in their menus, and I still cannot be sure if it is fixed today.

    The problem with V-Sync is that some games have this horrible input lag that has a slight (probably 150-200ms) and very noticebly annoying delay.

    If anyone else has fixed this issue, let me know!

    Things I have tried:
    1. Forcing V-Sync through CCC. Doing this does not enable V-Sync in the game.
    2. I have tried limiting frames. Instead of limiting the frames rendered, the game instead makes the card work on rendering the frames, and then only displays x amount of frames.
    3. Windowed. No luck.

    16x12? I don't think w1z will ever let go of those old CRTs:laugh:
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2012
  18. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    @3870X2 Try to download rivatuner, or some other app that includes D3Doverrider, and force vsync thru that.
     
  19. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Graphics are kinda lame on this game, so it runs great. Never see anywhere below 60fps.
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    doesnt work so well on my laptop (AMD A6 w/ APU) even on low at 1360x768. heres hoping driver updates/game patches fix that (seemed to be CPU lag, even OC'd to 2GHz/2.5 turbo).

    sits at 45ish FPS, but slows down in combat almost unplayably. updating to 12.4 drivers now to see if it helps.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2012
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,594 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    Australia
    My system runs this game with ease, the game maxes out at 200fps and that's what i get all the time with max settings but i get alot of tearing so i turn on vysnc and it runs smooth and uses 30% on both cards instead of 80-90% with vsync off
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    ^ i find the in game limiter works better with Vsync off, than using Vsync.
     
  23. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,594 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    Australia
    Fair enough, i didnt try it with the limiter (default was 150) but i might try that to see if it runs any better :)
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    cap it to 59 or 60fps with the limiter and try that, i find that in starcraft II capping the FPS works better than using Vsync, and figured the same would apply to diablo III.
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  25. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Hey Mussles, Blizzard games are notorious for being nVidia and Intel optimized.
    You are running both an AMD CPU and AMD GPU, you got a double-dose of de-optimization.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page