1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's your MAX Stable CPU FSB/Bus Speed

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by DOM, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Well I happy but still want a P45/X48 :p

    but this Old Asus P5B Deluxe P965 got new life with this E8500 E0

    fsb 1.3v bios
    NB 1.553v real

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Max stable was 450fsb on my E6400 and X3350 bench was 480fsb

    Going to up the Multi and see what I can get on the CPU with 580fsb :rockout:

    Also this is the max I can get with the E8500 585fsb didnt make to windows even with max volts to fsb and nb
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2008
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    [​IMG]

    going to run OCCT while i take a nap it ran for 10mins going to see if it well last the 1hr test :)
  3. kyle2020 Guest

    Nice! aparently these premiums will do 550 FSB, might have to see if i can have a crack at it! :toast:
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well try see what you can get :toast:

    well its stable :D

    my mem is stable and faster then at 1260Mhz cuz of the fsb
  5. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    P965 chips still rocks as my Commando OC my Q6600 past 4.1ghz

    [​IMG]
  6. kyle2020 Guest

    ^ tasty voltage on that!
  7. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    sure is toasty I have also tried 1.8v on for 4.2ghz sadly my crappy mems wouldn't allow me :pimp:
  8. kyle2020 Guest

    did you have a death wish?! :eek:
  9. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    haha not yet well Im not the only crazy one as my friend tried 1.85v on his Q6600 watercooled to get 4.1ghz

    [​IMG]
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    no one wants to see what there motherboards capable of ?

    i was surprised how much the mem write increased in write over all and didnt matter much that the cpu clock was 1ghz faster
  11. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    I'll give it a shot when mah new ram gets here this week. though I'm assuming I'll be able to reach 510 max or so just based on reading.
  12. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    that 580 is really nice man!
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    These are my 24/7 settings.

    [​IMG]
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    is it the ram in your specs ?

    thanks, this E0 is nice, i was thinking it was the motherboard max was 480 so i was well 4560Mhz might be the max, but ive dont some pi runs at 4.9GHz and AM, 05

    have you tryed droping the multi ? is your room aold cuz those are some low temps :p
  15. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,174 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    My highest was with the p5b-deluxe and the E6300 which i got to 3.9ghz/560fsb.The link is in my sig.
  16. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    E2180 @ 2.3ghz. Stock voltage... FSB is 230. I was stable at 233. Crashed at 234. Hoping some nice higher end RAM and a BIOS flash will do the trick. I've seen other people with the same board and chip break 3ghz.

    [​IMG]

    This is probably the epitome of bad overclocks. It's just fail.
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    but mines stable :toast:
  18. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    negative. this ram I have is crap for overclocking. rated 1066 @ 7-7-7-20 timings..ordered some 5-5-5 transcend Axeram. I assumed hyperx ram had good timings due to past experiences, and didnt actually check the specs. in hindsight it was very dumb.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Temps are probablly off 5c but yeah it's a little cold here. I can do 500mhz FSB at a x7multi with the Rampage but it's finicky with a high FSB. Not sure if it's the four sticks of ram or not. My DFi can go well over 500fsb with my quad.
  20. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
  21. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    At 1.3V I could get 2x 450MHz FSB, once I have better cooling installed I'll attempt to get this higher. Northbridge voltage is still at stock as well.
  22. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    I've only hit 400 as 400x8 is all this mobo will do with the OCZ plat rev.2 RAM I have...whether it's the ram or the mobo I am undecided..

    before when I had an X48, I could hit 900mhz with the ram...but not on this P45, which is confusing and irritating, it won't POST above 810(ish, sometimes not even then)
    so yeah, I'm buying some better ram.
    I only bought this P45 because the X48 didn't like my 4870X2 :cry:
  23. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    My 24/7 setting is 500FSB, and maybe when I've transplanted caes I'll see what can be achieved. The better ventilation will help.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page