1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's your monthly Internet Data Usage?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by suraswami, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,487 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    in my country we don't have limit on ADSL, Cable or Fibernet only on mobile connections.

    i used over 3TB last month in bandwidth :nutkick:
     
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,297 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,781
    Damn they don't have FiOS up here in Crystal River. I mean Brighthouse has been great so far but I hear FiOS is better. Ill have to look into it.
     
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    I personally made the switch and I think its better obviously speed wise but connectivity though to be fair I think my old brighthouse box had issues.
     
  4. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    343 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    128
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ours butts up against the 250 mark every month...primarily from Netflix/HULU+ streaming. We have Cox as well, it wasn't until a couple of years ago that we started receiving e-mails when we went over the cap. They usually tell you that...while we don't charge you for the overage, you might consider upgrading to a more appropriate level of service...

    Whatever happened to Cox 'unlimited'??

    In my opinion...this is nothing but a marketing ploy to get people to upgrade their accounts. When they start charging for overages, I'm gone....

    I've been a customer of Cox for almost 20 years, but with all of the increases in monthly rates...a disgruntled customer at best. Used to be a darn good company with excellent service...now? I'd prefer not to comment, children might be reading this thread.

    LC
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Very true. I think my monthly quota will be reset today. Until last night my internet was crawling. I didn't reset my modem or router. This morning the speed seems to be back to normal. Didn't run the tests so I don't go over the overage lol. Whole family was banned from internet, no Netflix no youtube for last 2 days. All of us were forced to watch dreaded cable TV!!!

    I will know in my next bill if I got charged for overage.

    Every company is greedy especially in Orange County, CA.
     
    Liquid Cool says thanks.
  6. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    540 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    How much have you downloaded this month?
    Usage for August 20.57GB
    Your download usage can take up to three days to update. Please be aware, until then, your usage will show as zero on individual days on the graphs below.
    Your download allowance: Unlimited*

    usage.png

    Not to shabby in 4 days..and i havent even been downloading..
    if i was on 250gb data plan i would be royally F'd up
     
  7. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,970 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,236
    what program do you use for that?
     
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    +1

    Please post what program you use to get that metrics, will be useful to check if anything suspicious going on in my network.
     
  9. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,065 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    698
    it's built into my Cisco Meraki Z1 router. :)
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom and suraswami say thanks.
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,367 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,230
    Location:
    Oregon
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    343 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    128
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    After my original comment...I went ahead and took a closer look at my account. When looking at the monthly chart, it was March when I spent a few weeks testing out all the new linux distros. On the daily, I recently installed an OS on a pc and downloaded the updates and three steam games...you can tell exactly on what days...:). Borderlands 2 was yesterday. So...on a normal day around here, it looks like we're averaging around 7.5gb a day.

    That's not too bad considering the internet is the only business we do with Cox in our household.

    I did forget to mention in the first comment...we have an Ooma as well. Our monthly bill for everything is 39.99 for the internet(negotiated rate) + 15.98 for NetFlix and Hulu + 3.47(taxes...Ooma is free) for Ooma. We don't miss cable television at all or actually the phone for that matter. BIG FAN of the Ooma. Runs perfect...and I've been using it for just under three years.

    Looks like I'm pretty much on schedule this month.

    Cox1a.gif

    Cox1b.gif

    Every month for the last 30+ months....I smile when I put a $130 in my own pocket instead of sending it to Cox Communications.

    The enjoyment never ends...;)

    Best,

    LC
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2014
  12. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,065 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    698
    <3 my rokus they've saved me a ton as well :)
     
    Liquid Cool says thanks.
  13. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    343 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    128
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    remixedcat...

    Agreed...Roku is how we stream our Netflix and Hulu. Currently using the Roku 3...it was a nice jump from the original Roku1 we we're using. It's pretty darn fast.

    Although...if someone is wanting to try a Roku out...this is just too good to pass up at 29.99.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...Index-_-VideoDevicesTVTuners-_-15328012-L016A

    This Roku1 from Newegg is the updated version...we had the old square box version. This one looks more like the Roku3(with the Roku 2 XS remote) too me, so I wonder if it's the same chip as the original or perhaps a better one?

    Best,

    LC
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2014
    remixedcat says thanks.
  14. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    What is "Ooma"?
     
  15. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,065 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    698

    I got a Roku 3 and a new Roku 1
     
  16. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    343 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    128
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    http://ooma.com/

    We use it for our landline...

    Best thing since sliced bread...

    Doesn't need a pc connected to it like some of the other units, you don't 'have' to have a router to use it or if you have a router you can hook it up 'before' the router or to the router...and if you plug the Ooma into a phone jack....all of the jacks in the house are live, so it's not really much different than what Cox is using if they've hooked you up to their new Digital phone system....you're paying them for what you can get for free...and it is every bit as good.

    I've set up quite a few of these for people...not a single complaint in the last three years. Every one of them is happy with it. Even my aunt who is using it with the wireless connector, she says her calls are still crystal clear...and frankly I had my doubts. These older women can get on the phone and talk for an hour at a time...lots of throughput there....thought there might be a few dropoffs, but she's told me repeatedly it's been solid as a rock.

    Every install I've done has been with a D-Link dir-655 router upgraded with 1.37 firmware. Super stability...although, one household I'm currently working with we are using an ASUS RT-N66U/RT-N12 combination and having good success. They have a large home, so the RT-N12 is the repeater.

    LC

    P.S. Wanted to add...that if a person does purchase an Ooma...they'll have the best success with their new Ooma if they purchase Dect 6.0 phones with it...I usually recommend a Panasonic base phone with a 12' handset cord added and at least a couple of satellite phones.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2014
    suraswami says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page