1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

When disabling SLI, is there a way I can choose which GPU to use?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by CK011885, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. CK011885

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    32 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I have a GTX 590 that is overheating pretty badly and needs its thermal paste to be replaced. In the meantime, I disabled SLI in the hopes of lowering the cards temperature, but some games like SC2 and Dota 2 are still pushing the card too much, making it reach 99C and causing it to underclock itself to avoid overheating, causing me lag.

    When I disable SLI, it always uses GPU 2 as the lone GPU. I'm thinking the problem might be with the paste on that one, and GPU 1 might actually be okay and usable. Only, I'm not sure how to make it use GPU 1 in place of GPU 2 when SLI is disabled on this card. Is that possible, if so, how can I do it?
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,444 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    move the monitor cable. or put the card in slot 1
     
    xvi and CK011885 say thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,392 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,413
    The GTX590 has 3 DVI ports. Two of them are connected to one of the GPUs and the third is connected to the other GPU. So just move the DVI cable to the different DVI ports until you find the port that is linked to GPU1.
     
    CK011885 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. CK011885

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    32 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks, unfortunately it didn't seem to make much of a difference. I guess the thermal paste on GPU1 is in the same exact condition. The fan spins fine and is clear of dust, could there be any other issue than thermal paste needing to be replaced?
     
  5. leeb2013

    leeb2013

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    154 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    with Vsync enabled, I would think that SLI would reduce the temperature of each card vs a single card as they would share the load roughly 50-50, instead of 1 card being maxed out. Try also reducing the graphics settings, whilst keeping Vsync enabled, it will also reduce GPU load.
     
    CK011885 says thanks.
  6. CK011885

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    32 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    This worked as you said it would. When I had SLI disabled, GPU usage would reach 90-100% with SC2 completely maxed out, causing the card to overheat and hit 99C and underclock/throttle. With SLI enabled, GPU usage was about 45-50% on both cards, with the temperature topping out at 93C. Still very hot, so I'm still planning to clean out the card and apply new Arctic MX-2 I ordered, but good to know I can actually play games without any real issues.
     
  7. Aithos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    175 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I don't recommend using VSYNC, it introduces significant processing lag. With that being said, I'd keep SLI on (as you have been) and just lower your settings or cap framerates if the games allow it. I know with Counterstrike you can set a "max_framerate" and other games have console commands to do similar things. If you're running a 60hz monitor you could cap it at 60fps and that might help a bit since the card won't work as hard for extra frames. Obviously some games 100+ frames is no problem (like Counterstrike).
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,392 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,413
    Well I would recommend using VSYNC because the lag it introduces isn't noticeable and it prevents screen tearing, which is very noticeable to me. But VSYNC is a personal preference, unless you are in a case like the OP where he has to have it on to prevent his card from overheating.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Aithos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    175 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Vsync lag is HIGHLY noticable. I recently completed a new build, reinstalled all my apps and got a new monitor...I was getting horrible lag in online multiplayer games and after looking at settings (since my computer is powerful enough to max everything at 2560x1440) I noticed that vsync was enabled accidentily after I changed resolutions (up from 1920x1200). The instant I turned it off the lag went away and everything was perfect. Especially with SLI setups that already struggle with frame pacing and stuttering, VSYNC is even worse lag in that case.
     
  10. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    687 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Make sure your "maximum pre-rendered frames" settings are on the lowest possible (if any). If it is high it will introduce a HIGHLY noticeable input lag.

    But VSync alone shouldn't do that, from my experience (if any).
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,392 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,413
    What he said, VSync shouldn't be causing noticeable lag.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page