1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

When i run ATiTool with 3d picture on, i get high pitched noise?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mobius, Apr 2, 2005.

  1. mobius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok, i used to have the Ati 9700pro, and when i ran ATiTool with the 3d image enabled (spinning cube), my computer emittied a high pitch noise, sorta like writing to the harddrive, but higher pitch

    i replaced the hdds, so its not that, ive RMA'd my 9700pro and ATI gave me a 9800pro (Sweet!)

    and now when i run it, it still emits a high pitch noise :(

    could it be my PSU? its a generic 400watt thing... called AcePower


    my system:

    p4 3.2e
    asus p4p800e-dlx
    2x512 infinion pc3200
    120gb, 180gb, 200gb WD 8mb 7200's
    400watt generic PSU
    ATi Radeon 9800pro 128mb AGP
    cdrw, dvdrw
  2. Nergal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    The cooler of your GPU perhaps?
  3. ADV4NCED Guest

    Yes I believe it is the cooler of your GPU as I sometimes get a high pitched noise when I look at certain 3D images mainly in games though not really in ATI Tool.
  4. mobius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    really? even though i got a new vid card and it does the exact same thing?

    why the hell would ati make such a crappy product?
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,780 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,481
    when 3d load is very high, the video card draws a lot of power.

    depending on combination of motherboard, video card and psu there is a chance that a resonance circuit is created in some power regulation coil, which is making a high-pitched sound.
  6. mobius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so ur suggesting it comes from where? PSU? GPU?
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,780 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,481
    it can come from any of those 3 and it is caused by an unlucky combination of the three
  8. Halki New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    143 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    somewhere.. over the rainbow (Zilina, Slovakia)
    yeah have tha same prob, the system "squeaks" everythime i'm doing anything cpu or gpu intensive...
    i did get used to it, however, now i know exactly what my sys is doin' when it looks freezed :D
    it's almost like my modem
  9. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Mine does it too but its not very loud. I wondered what it was at first, cause when I did certain things it made that noise. But what W1zzard said makes perfect sense. I also asked my dad and he said it might be a circuit doing it.

    -Dan
  10. John Peterson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Interesting to find such an old report of this. I didn't know that already the Radeon R300 could cause this. I thought this problem arrived first last summer with the GeForce 200 Series and for the first time with ATI cards with RV800. I've read about it in this thread and seen the problem in these two Youtube videos, here and here. I have not found anyone that has a solution to this problem. The manufacturer of my PSU had no comment on the issue.

    The problem mostly appears in synthetic environments like benchmarking tools. But sometimes in games too which makes it a problem that should be fixed. My guess so far is that it occurs only with very high frame rates, perhaps 100 fps or more. And not just because the GPU load is maxed out and it's utilizing maximum wattage. It's curious that the problem is so widespread among different PSU models.
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2009
  11. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    yeah my HD4890 does the same thing when stressed hard... dosent really bother me and has done it on the last 2 montherboards ive owned so im sure its the card
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    One of my 38 cards whines under load as well, only when highly over clocked though.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page