1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

when transcoding does the 5000 series assist automaticaly?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by shevanel, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I couldnt find too much info on the question I have about ati stream and transcoding.

    I wanted to know if transcoding on the gpu happens auto whenever your transcoding a file in the program you're using, I usually use Camtasia. Is this true? Or does it need to be setup manually or selected manually?
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,742 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,461
    the encoder needs to be optimized to use ati stream
    shevanel says thanks.
  3. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I have been trying for weeks to download ATI avivo but everytime I fill out that info form to be taken to the download it just resets.

    Any suggestions on another ATI stream optimized encoder?
  4. mmsandi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Podgorica, Montenegro
    good luck with that ..avivo only transcodes a few extensions ..its not worth it IMO
    shevanel says thanks.
  5. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    what application are most reviewers using in their reviews then? I do not see them mention what they use but only the performance
  6. mmsandi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Podgorica, Montenegro
    "..Always worth a mention is UVD, short for Universal Video Decoder. With proper 3rd party software like WinDVD or PowerDVD you can enable support for UVD 2.0 which provides hardware acceleration of H.264 and VC-1 high definition video formats used by Blu-ray and HD DVD."

    ..just google a bit

    "..Always worth a mention is UVD, short for Universal Video Decoder. With proper 3rd party software like WinDVD or PowerDVD you can enable support for UVD 2.0 which provides hardware acceleration of H.264 and VC-1 high definition video formats used by Blu-ray and HD DVD."

    ..Win DVD ..PowerDVD ..google a bit
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2010
  7. Fishymachine New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    208 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Cibertech R10 I belive has Stream suport
    shevanel says thanks.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    you made three posts, talking about video playback. This has nothing to do with what the OP has asked, which is about file transcoding.
    shevanel says thanks.
  9. mmsandi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Podgorica, Montenegro
    sorry mate my bad ..about 3 times posting ..it was a glitch I suppose cause it wouldn't post for me
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    your original post looked like spam to the automated systems and had to be approved.
  11. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Transcoding software has to support ATI's Stream and the feature typically has to be enabled. Cyberlink's Power Director and MediaShow Espresso are the only two transcoders that I know of that currently support it. The feature hasn't really caught on. Suspect both ATI and Nvidia will put a lot more effort into OpenCL in the future. OpenCL is a universal GPU assist standard.
  12. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Ati's AVIVO codec stuff is included in the 10.1 hotfix for 5XXX series :)

    Dunno if that's for encoding or decoding or whatever since I've never used it, I just noticed it in the install.
  13. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It is for transcoding, which is from one format to another.
    The quality with that thing used to be utter crap, now it is alright.

    I use Power Director which supports ATi Stream.
    shevanel says thanks.
  14. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    power direcotr 8 looks pretty decent, do you like it alot?
  15. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It is easy to use with its GUI and it does the job fine for me.
    Seems to have minor problems handling my 600Mbps+ AVIs, but otherwise I like it.
    I mainly use it to edit and transcode my Fraps recordings.
  16. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    yea thats all i really use camtasia for and since letting the 920 go I have been looking for a way to decrease coding time a bit.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    can powerdirector save to MKV, and does it support subtitles and such?

    i use handrake to rip DVD's to 350MB MKV's for archiving, most of the GPU acceleration encoding programs i've found either suck really badly, or they dont support MKV
  18. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Power Director 8 does support support subtitles. :toast:
    On the other hand it only support more standard formats like m2ts and H.264 mp4 and also RM and DIVX AVIs :rolleyes:
    Basically most of the stuff that WMP 12 can natively play and a few more.
    It is intended to make movies that basically any newer machines can play.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2010
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    H264 + MP4 might be ok. i'll look into it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page