1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

When Watching Streaming Videos Online

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happy, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I'd go with m4gicfour but I think Solaris17 is also on the same page as for getting the x1 card right? But If I do get the x1 x8 or x16 card over the AGP, I could actually use it on a next rig; hence, the more room for salvaging some parts (well the GPU, SATA cables and I think pretty much that's it). If I stuck with the GX270 I would have to buy additional memory and the AGP card which would easily be 80 - 90 dollars. Memory for the GX270 is about 40 - 50 dollars which is 20 - 30 dollars more expensive than the memory I bought for the Dimensions E310.
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    sure a few of those are going to generate way more heat then the others.
  3. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    829 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Yeah the hardware for the GX is old enough that to buy it is starting to get MORE expensive because it's rare. On the other hand, AGP graphics cards aren't rare and you could probably find a used 3850AGP for less than $50. PCIe x1 cards are more expensive than x16 cards with the same chip, just because few x1 cards are made.

    If you want to do any upgrading on either machine, check the Buy/Sell section of these forums (although you're unlikely to find any x1 cards, the RAM, AGP card, and maybe even a CPU wouldn't be too hard to find). You'll definitely want a bigger PSU (400W or so) if you put a 3850 in that GX.
    I'm just being a smart-ass, don't mind me.
    happy says thanks.
  4. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Man. I thought 230w from the E310 would be able to handle the ZOTAC ZT-50608-10L GeForce GT 520 without the need to buy a new extra PSU. Does that mean the GX270 with 250w PSU will be capable of handling the Diamond 7000?
    The Video Cards don't specify the wattage requirement.
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    Location:
    Oregon
    happy says thanks.
  6. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    829 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    The GT520 or Radeon 5450 might be OK. (might) The PCIe x1 cards are newer, and not designed as high-performance gaming cards so they draw less power.

    A 3850 AGP is a much power hungrier card (and I was talking about the GX computer with that one

    Note - I'm not sure if you are, but I think you might be getting confused: PCIe x1 slots can be cut to be used with PCIe cards of any lane width (x1, x4, x8 ,x16) but not PCI cards or AGP cards.

    The opposite is also true. AGP or PCI slots won't work with anything but the card designed for them. PCIe slots (x16) will work with any smaller (x1, x4, x8) card without any mod.
  7. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Yeah. took me a while to understand but I figured it out, but was just thinking whether or not I would be able to carefully cut that back of the x1 slot on the E310 board.

    The x16 cards could be 2.0 or 2.1 versions right?
  8. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    829 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    If you do decide to do that, before doing anything, check and make sure there's no obstructions (capacitors, heatsinks, etc) behind the slot that the card would hit (remember the connect or on x16 (if you get one) is about 4 inches long. When I say behind the slot I mean towards the front of the case. Measure from the end of the slot closest to the back of the case, 4 inches towards the front. That area needs to be clear for cutting the slot to work.

    If you decide to cut it, be VERY careful, and use a dremel or something if you own one.

    You won't need to cut it if you get an x1 card.

    EDIT - PCIe is backwards compatible. You can use any version of PCIE.
    happy says thanks.
  9. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I found a link -->http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/249291-30-card for the x1 to x16 mod. Just thinking what would be the best tool to cut it with.
    But if I do choose buying the x16 cards that would mean I would have to upgrade the PSU right?
    Jetster says thanks.
  10. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    829 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Yep, that's the deal.

    You could cut it with a small saw blade (small-toothed jigsaw or hacksaw blade - by holding the blade in your hand, not using the jigsaw lol) as long as the blade isn't wide enough to come into contact with the metal contacts in the slot, or you could heat up a butter knife with your stove and belt the back out (CAREFUL!), or you could ask Solaris how he did it when he did his

    EDIT - Yes, you will definitely need an upgraded power supply if you get an x16 card (unless the x16 card is a radeon 3450 or something EXTREMELY lowend, and even then it's iffy). If you get a PSU you can always re-use it in your next build.
  11. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Alrighty. I guess I have more than enough "informacion" to proceed with this restoration.

    Thanks again.

    Edit: Forgot to mention, I already purchased the Diamond Products S60PCI Radeon 7000 32MB DDR SDRAM PCI Graphics Card which will be using for the GX270 which has 250w will be enough right?
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    I used an incredibly hot very sharp pocket knife. like this gerber and slowly cut the back off.

    EDIT:: that psu is fine for the 7000
    happy says thanks.
  13. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I was planning to use a super hot and sharp heated scissors to slowly trim the back off. Well once I do that, I will definitely repost and update with pictures of the result.
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    I really dont think scissors are a good idea they are WAY to thick, not to mention scissors work using a pinch point. they are ALOT duller then you think.
  15. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    When you cut with knife, and inserted the x16 x8, or x4 card it worked flawlessly without any hitch? Does the card wiggle alot afterwards?
  16. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    829 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    ^ This.
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    ya it wiggles i dont think any more then the actual x1 cards i have. my usb 3 card and sound card are x1 and those wiggle about as much as the card did. (they dont have locks) and ya started right up worked fine.

    EDIT: dont use scissors on a x16 or w/e card to get it to fit into x1 either. you WILL flex the PCB it will crack and you will be fucked.
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  18. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Alright,
    Thanks

    Edit: Yeah, I am just only going to cut the back of the x1 slot or sodder like the guy I found in the link. Another thing is he didn't specify where the melted plastic went. Do you wipe the melted plastic with paper or tissue right after it has melted? Wouldn't the melted plastic (being super hot) damage the surrounding area that is dripped down?
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  19. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    829 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Going to bed. Good luck.
  20. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Thanks for the help.
  21. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    no it shaves off like cheese. it doesnt run like water. it has the consitency of warm butter.
  22. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I read more into the tomshardware thread and found that some in fact cut the pci x16 card's extra pin and covered with electrical tape.
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    you can do it either way. cut the slot. cut the connector. but imo i would just save yourself the hassle if you dont have the tools and buy an x1 card.
  24. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Well, Thanks for all the help. I will just see what I will do.
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    you better follow up, or your going to be on my shit list. If i dont get to see how this ends I will be upset. so you come back and you bump this thread and I want pics. and CPUZ and GPUZ shots. use the prntscrn button and CTRL-V in paint. you just dont stop story time before the books done bro.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page