1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Where can I find a good mobo with an AGP 8x slot?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by ny_driver, Jan 2, 2007.

  1. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    They seem to be few and far between:confused: I need to be able to put a pretty fast processor in it. I was going to buy a athlon64 4000+, so I wouldn't want anything slower than that.;)
     
  2. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    What socket is it?
     
  3. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Might I suggest a board with both AGP and PCI-E so you have some future upgrade ability? I have owned the Asrock Dual SATA2 board myself and it is an excellent board, it is native AGP/PCI-E (meaning there is no AGP bridgeing which slows the performance slightly) and I have used it with a 4000+.

    It is voltage regulated to the CPU so unless you voltmod the board you will not be able to overclock the processor to higher than about 3Gig but thats seriously fast in any case......HIGHLY recommended.....and cheap! You can buy it here:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813157097
     
  4. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    I'm going to get a board and a cpu so I don't really care what socket as long as it is fast and reliable and overclockable. And under $200 for the combo.
     
  5. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    That looks like a really nice board, but what do you mean no AGP bridging which slows the performance slightly? And slows the performance of what..the video card?
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK

    Thats socket 939 because you said a 4000+, thats the fastest single core socket 939, I say that becasue 4000+ can generally clock as high as an FX57, you can go dual core either now or in the future with socket 939 however if you would like to go AM2 then you will need new RAM as well, same applies for Intel and C2D.
     
  7. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    ohh another question...what is DualVSTA anyways?
     
  8. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Lol I was thinking about recommending the same board.
    Just wanted to make sure he didnt already have the processor.
    That board is a good board, the only problem is that that is a dead socket.

    What are your current system specs now?
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Most dual AGP/PCI-E (but not all) boards bridge the 2 slots much like the old generation ATI crossfire enabled motherboards where the bandwidth/communications transfers thru a bridge between the 2 slots before it is sent to the CPU which basically adds latency and can slow the AGP graphics card/port.

    THIS IS NOT A BRIDGED BOARD THEREFORE NO SLOWDOWN.
     
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Agreed but a decent single core now and perhaps a good dual core in a years time would be a cheap upgrade path for someone on a tight budget to save DDR2 etc today.
     
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Dual = Dual Sata = 2 SATA controllers

    Vista = Windows Vista ready/certified. (not that counts for an aweful lot at the moment?)
     
  12. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    the positioning of the agp slot being lower will interfere with my 80mm intake fan that I have positioned below the AGP card and above the bottom pci slot( that happens to be my main cooling method for my card. well that and a 120mm exhaust accross from cpu
     
  13. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Well if thats a showstopper for you then I am not aware of any other AGP/PCI-E non bridged cards so you need to get googling unless you dont want the PCI-E option which in my opinion would be foolish, you can get some socket 939 NForce 3 AGP boards still I think but I would just re-jig your cooling!
     
  14. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    so that ASrock board with the 4000+ sandiego with my atix850pro should be pretty smokin', correct? Should be able to clock the chip to at least 2.8 I heard even with crappy ram. And the slight performance that I will lose from no agp bridging is probably not something that I personally would notice is it? Considering what I am upgrading from? My goal is like 50 fps in GTR2 and GTL.
     
  15. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    :pimp: I can get the air in there!:D :respect:I'm going to buy it...thanks for halping me decide.
     
  16. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Skt 939 is not a dead socket. It may not be getting any new cpus manufactured for it, but that doesnt necessitate calling it a dead socket. There are still plenty of 939 options out there.
     
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    look above at post 9.....No AGP bridging is best! the performance hit is when you HAVE AGP bridgeing!

    The chip alone is not going to get you hugh increases in FPS, it will help a little but at the end of the day it will be the limitations of the 850 that hold you back and yes you should easily obtain 2.8Gig even on stock cooling.

    if you were looking to overclock a 4000+ you may want to consider upgrading your power supply, ATi's specs for the 850 is 350W minimum and with significant CPU overclocks you may be getting near to the limit, just monitor it at first with a decent software monitoring tool, if you 12V rail drops below 12V for a significan period then time to stat thinking about 500w!
     
  18. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    too bad that board is out of stock...now that I tried to purchase it(
     
  19. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    NY,
    Just out of curiousity, why dont you shoot for an Opty instead of an 4000+?
     
  20. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
  21. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    no reason at all...show me the way)
     
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Cause in single core guise the 4000+ is cheaper and as fast if not faster....sorry thats just my guess :D NY there are plenty of other e tailers that might have it in stock, the board that is. Up to you on the CPU, if you wanna go dual core the Opty 170 is a good option.
     
  23. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
  24. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    The only thing is that he saves $12 with going to the egg.
    But then again, that board does sell out quite often.

    The only reason I even mentioned the opty is bc it is dual core (future proof) and they OC very well.
    I see it as a better bang for the buck.

    I mostly use my rigs for games, but when I use them for DVD/CD writing with other apps open I kinda miss not having a dual core yet (besides quake 4 since that can use dual cores properly). You can get an Opty 165 OEM for around $135 or retail for around $150. The 170s are out of your price range since they are around $180.

    So by getting the opty I just hit your $200 budget

    The only thing kinda holding your computer back now is your RAM since its only 1GB :)
     
  25. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    I found the board and I think I will get the SanDiego. It sounds nice:toast: you have saved me some money:D and given me more options for the future:D much appreciated :) next thing will be 2 x 1 gHz ram to add to my 2 x 512.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page