1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Where does the 5000 BE place... on the Intel Spectrum?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Black Panther, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    I'm very unfamiliar with AMD processors.
    I recently bought this, and would like to know where it places regards performance before buying the rest of the hardware I need for this build.

    Like is it worse than an E4300? Or is it better?
    What if compared with an E6320?
    Or an E7500?

    :toast:
     
  2. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I can tell you its no where near close to a e7 anything XD

    From my brief use with it, it felt like my e5200, although the e5200 was maybe a little faster.

    In super pi the e5200 was twice as fast, but that seams to be normal with AMD.

    Games loaded in about the same time.

    OS load was a bit slower.

    Other then that I couldn't really feel a difference.



    Could be mistaken though its been a long time since I used the e5200.
     
  3. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    my e4300 used to keep up with an old clan m8s 6000 so....not sure i would rate it that high tbh :(
     
  4. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
  6. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    well compared to your E8400 overclocked, even that 5000BE overclocked to the brim wouldn't touch it.
     
  7. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    If it helps any it beats a Dual Core Pentium 4 lol
     
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Wow I was off by a whole fab process XD
     
  9. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    think low end allendale equivalent basically.
     
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    I didn't buy it as an upgrade lol, but just to make a new build for my daughter (cheapish but worth for her games hopefully) and I intend to couple it with my present 8800GT.
     
  11. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    E2xxx series would most likely be the most cost effective at an OC of 3Ghz or higher they are stable and faster than the 5000BE. If the motherboard does not support OC'ing most E2xxx series do 3Ghz at stock voltage. BSEL mod works fine on the E2xxx series: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=108140

    In the USA they run around $40USD.
     
  12. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    When it comes to overclocking (just want to rant) then the e5200 is way better then 5000BE i just achived 4.4Ghz stable for benching, and 4.6Ghz highest overclock so loL!:roll:
    *EDIT* There about the same price range? My bad for just commenting on a e5200 :(
    I had a 4200, 4400, 5800BE, 6000 3.1Ghz brisbane. Now i know for a fact this e5200 feels more responsive then even then 6000 brisbane core. the 6000+ bottle necked my GTX 260 BADLY. Its a good CPU but when it comes to games i was just missing out. The minute i got my ep45-UD3p and a e5200 with a darknight cooler i played crysis at stock with 10 more fps. Overclocked it to 3.8Ghz and WAS !&*@^#$ AMAZED AT THE PERFORMANCE INCREASE. It was a joke, i realized that the new CPU alone improved my rig a hole dam lot. I remember benching with the 4400 and getting 9,800 ish in 3dmark06 with my GTX 260 >.<. Then i benched it with my e5200 and got 13,000 3d marks in 06, then i overclocked the e5200 and achived 15,765 3dmarks. Next week i get some balls and Benched my e5200 at 4.2Ghz and get 17,168 points in 3dmark06, with my gtx 260 over clocked to. Now i leave my e5200 at 4.0Ghz and i have no stutters or weird slow downs on cod5 maxed out 4xAA 1440x900 on a 50+ player zombie servers were theres 30+ limbs flying every second. Huge explonsion, blood and about 4 times mo shiat blowing up and you get the point. On custom modded maps to...... Also my crysis runs at a new smooth now, It was smooth with my 6000+ sorta but now it runs at 45-50+ fps at the least and its so much smoother feeling and looking then it is at 25-35 fps. Im very happy on my decision to get on lga 775 at least. Now im looking for more CPU power and another 260 for some beast action.
     
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    you didnt played enough with it, or you forgot too much:p it rips even an overclocked 5000+ to pieces, since it has just double the cache per core, but is also faster clock per clock. a high fsb showed me the wonders of your bugger. if my main rig fails -> this thing will be 2nd;)
    5000+ at 3,2ghz, is an e5200 at stock, i would say. i own both.:D
     
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I played with it plenty, it was a long time ago lol
     
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    the e5200 is like 30-40% "snappier" in my eyes. it reacts better, i believe, thats mainly due to the cache;)
     
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Crap... I was thinking it was along the E4300 in performance?
     
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I'd actually take it back if you want to get something else : ]
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i think about it, depends if i buy a second lga775 board, when i get my q9550:D
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    me and JR had a battle and i can tell you that the CELERON E1200 trades blows and is neck to neck in almost everything. The 5kBE is a weak chip compared to most Intels
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND



    Ahh you high man!? :laugh:
     
  21. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    all a64 are weak against intel. just the windsors took a little ground, but not much.

    i cant get high anymore, i smoked too long, everyday. i think i may need a break:D
    the e5200 made me so mad, about its crunching performance, i "convinced" my father to buy me a quad:D (in fact he asked what i wanted, now he is in Tampa,Florida. he tries to reach the microcenter on long island, because on his last vacation day, he is like 6 Hours in NY)
    if he fails that, he promised me to buy the quad here.so Q9550 it is. he said the price is ok.
    (140 dollars,microcenter,200 euro,german shop):twitch:
     
  22. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    You bought a 5000+ recently? Why? There are newer, better AMD chips in the same price range that will out perform C2D is most test.
     
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    She bought second hand from me .

    Also VW I get what you mean now but I was talking to BP :laugh:
     
  24. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Thanks for your offer pantherx12 but I don't expect it - after all it's not your fault if I had wrong impressions!!

    What made me think that the 5000 was better than the E4300 I used to game on and which now is in one of my work pc's was this Anandtech review which included cpu comparison graphs like these...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    From the above benchmarks it seems the 5000 @ stock beats not only the stock E4300 but even the E6300 :confused:
     
  25. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    ah, i thought you miss your chip:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page