1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

where is my pop-up blocker

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Shmokinjoe, Sep 14, 2006.

  1. Shmokinjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am having problems on some sites and my GF has a company e-mail that she can't check on the new computer. You can see a window try to open and then at the bottom of the main window it says a pop-up was blocked. I turned off the explorer pop-up blocker under tools but it doesn't make any difference.
  2. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Try using Mozilla Firefox. Its pop-up blocker is a bit more straight forward, and I've never had any problems getting a pop-up to come up once it's been allowed.
  3. Shmokinjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That's an idea but these things have worked with IE before. And what I really want to know is where it's coming from. How is it that you turn off the pop-up blocker then click on something and it says " a pop-up was blocked"?
  4. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Are you using IE 6 or 7?
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    its hidden in one of the menus cant remember exactly were but its under restricted site or something like that i think not postitive bc i use firefox only no ie for me
  6. Shmokinjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Where do I find out if it's 6 or 7? I just bought the windows XP about a month ago.
  7. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Open the browser > Help > About Internet Explorer > It should be in one of the first lines. Should say Version 6.0....... blah blah blah. It'll probably be version 6. You may want to upgrade to the new version 7.0, I'm not sure if it's out of beta yet, but it's a better browser anyway.

    Try manually allowing the address that is originating the pop-up in, tools > pop-up Blocker > pop-up blocker settings.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page