1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which AM2 CPU should I buy

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DaMulta, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    AMD Athlon 64 FX-62 Windsor 199.99
    My personal pick

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000.
    $169.99 as fast as the 62 stock, but what about after OCing?

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane $119.00
    Kind of scared of the Brisbane:banghead:

    AMD Opteron 1216 HE Santa Ana 2.4GHz 2 x 1MB $209.00
    Hmmm

    AMD Opteron 1218 HE Santa Ana 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB $209.00
    Hmmm

    AMD Opteron 1218 Santa Ana 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB $229.99
    Hmm

    AMD Opteron 1216 Santa Ana 2.4GHz 2 x 1MB $169.00
    Hmm

    What does the HE stand for?
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2007
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I thought both FX 62 and 6000+ could overclock similarly?
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    The FX is unlocked however I think I would need to lower the multi to hit my memory speeds.
     
  4. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    6000+ all the way it will do 3.4ghz to 3.5ghz oced which no other AMD chip can do. If your going to go inexpensive get a 4000+ Brisbane it will hit 3.0ghz easily because of it's 10x multi and is a geat deal because most AMD chips won't go higher than 3.0 with the exception of the 6000+ even the FX62 maxes usually at 3.0ghz. The 6000+ is a 125w, beefed up chip. The FX62 is 85w and most won't hit 3.0 ghz believe it or not.
     
  5. mello_newf

    mello_newf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    339 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
    You will be able to get a higher clock with the 6000+ around 3.2GHz - 3.4GHz the FX will only reach 3.0GHz if your lucky. So my vote is for the 6000+ it's faster and cheaper. ;)
     
  6. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    August 20th they release the 6400+ x2 (which is actually news of the frontpage of this site currently) Its clocked at 3.2ghz and is going to be the fastest AMD cpu til Phenom. Price should be anywhere between $210-$240.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/?37376

    x2 6000+ is faster than the FX-62 and clocks more, but Ive only seen it go to 3.5ghz by luck and I'm not even sure if that was on air. High level AMD processors arnt for overclocking, but rather for performance for a cheap price. If you want to overclock a processor and get the best performance for a cpu to date then go with a core 2 duo. Don't let a brand name scare you away.

    Lowest level core2duos (or lowest level core 2 duo architechure cpus) such as the E2140,E2160,E4300 and up can all overclock to speed a AMD cpu could never meet, and beat a X2 is "most benchmarks" (most gaming ones especially). But AMDs cpus are sure good for the price though, I'm not here to hate on them but instead here to inform about them.
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    What about the Opterons?
     
  8. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000.
     
  9. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    \

    Well here it is and several on this site have gone over 3.5ghz. This was mine on air
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2007
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    These are old shots of when I tested mine.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Very nice!!1

    Do u think the Opterons could do that?
     
  12. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    In this test my 6000+ beat 22 core duos clocked at similar or higher speeds.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    What board did you get the overclock on, trt?
     
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    TBH DaMulta, the opterons aren't worth the extra money anymore. They may OC more than the normal chips, but the price different isn't worth it IMO.

    I say the Bane 5000, or 6000.
     
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    No the 6000+ is physically a different chip than all the other AM2 chips. It is binned differently and designed to take more watts. It going to get a make over and become a 89w chip here in the future. The 6400+ is also going to be a 89w version it will be intersting to see if they will break 3.6ghz oced because some of the 125 watt chips have.
     
  16. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    They do have more memory on the chip:toast: That's a plus.
     
  17. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Asus M2N32 sli deluxe wilreless edition best AM2 board made IMO
     
    theonetruewill says thanks.
  18. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Not enough to make a huge difference. Because of the HTT the AMD chips don't need the huge amount of cache like the C2D's do.

    There was an article a while back that looked at 2 AM2 chips, both the same speed, but one had 512k cache per core, and the other 1Mb, and the performance difference wasn't enough to warrant the price increase.
     
  19. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I loved that chip it was a total waste to move to intel. I see zero difference and my memory actually decreased in performance. The members here tried to tell me but o well.
     
  20. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    here is a shot of my 49.00 Brisbane 3600x2 runing as fast as a 6000+ at stock


    [​IMG]
     
  21. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113



    [​IMG]
     
  22. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I could never get mine to hit that high....but I think I've had a bad CPU from the get go. The memory died on the first day which means if my problem is the memory controler then that may of been my problem.

    I am sooo looking at the 62. It performs as well as the 6000 does at a lower clock. So I'm wondering if it performs better OCed against OCed while being at a lower OC.
     
  23. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    That little brisbane was a beast for 49.00
     
  24. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    TRT, how many volts were you running on the 3600 to get 3.125?
     
  25. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I think It might have been your motherboard. The M2N32 SLI deluxe would do 405 FSB and for a AM2 board thats high.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page