1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which AM2+ processor?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Champ, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    806 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I know I'm a little old school here, but I still have my MSI K9A2 CF-F V1 and I want to return it to work horse form. I read it can take all the Phenom processors, but I read it hadn't been tested for the Phenom 2 and it was found out that it could take them. Anyone know anything about this? And which processor is the best I can drop in, black edition of course?
  2. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,748 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Phenom II 940 BE is your only option, but it's a pretty good one.
    NAVI_Z and Champ say thanks.
  3. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    ^It's true, I have one.
    Champ says thanks.
  4. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    806 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Your setup is close to how I want mine. I want 2 4870s. I don't know if DX 11 is worth all the hype.
  5. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Correct it isnt worth all the hype, im not going to move to DX11 until we have video cards that can run DX11 at well over 100FPS in ALL games instead of this 20-30FPS IF your lucky
    Champ says thanks.
  6. Zyon

    Zyon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    264 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    Champ says thanks.
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,470 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,012
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Champ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    806 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    thanks everyone, this is great. It looks like I might be able to get a high-end 95w Phenom 2 or weaker Thuban. I emailed to see able the 125w processors. This will carry me a few more years if it works. Zyon, there is a V2 of this board. It is known to run all those chips.
  9. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2011
  10. gifted1

    gifted1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    amsterdam, The Netherlands
    youve got the 1055t in 95 watt version but i`m not sure if it is a BE.
  11. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    806 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    didn't think about that. I'm gonna have to look thru that list. I had a 5000+ BE the last time, so I'm thinking that like the 7850.
  12. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Thuban 1055 isn't Black Edition so its FSB OCcing only,which isn't a bad thing by any means!
    Though paying extra for 2 cores that arent really supported when gaming or anything other than when benching doesnt make much sense,
    Would it not be better to focus on faster RAM and a phenom II 555 or 955 ?
    These might be more sensible as anything really powerful is only going to be hampered by even the top DDR2 anyway.
  13. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    2 4870s might be what you need, because single HD 4870 is struggling hard to deliver good quality/performance in new games, but it's still going strong.:rockout:
  14. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
  15. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    there are two versions of the 940 b.e. one is the 140w and the other is the 125w.My son has the 140w 940b.e. in his rig. oc's well to 3.7gigz on air & 4.0gigz on water.its just about two years old and still going strong!its the best am2+ chip hands down, if you can find one that is. happy hunting. :toast:
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,903 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    Rochester area
    am3 motherboards are 50-75 bucks >_>
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    You can use any AM3 processor in this board as long as it is under 95w. The reason you have to stick to 95w is because of weak PWM on the V1 board. The V2 board uses higher rated parts in the PWM and also added a Mosfet heatsink.

    If you want to leave the processor at stock, then go with a 95w AM3 chip, the best one that is readily available being the Phenom II 945. But if you put a 95w chip in that board, I wouldn't raise any voltages if you want the PWM to live for a while.

    Personally, if it was me, I'd put an 80w Phenom II x2 555 in there, and overclock it a little. That should perform well enough in games.
    Champ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page