1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which cable for 1920x1080 120hz?

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by hat, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just not a new used 120hz monitor. When I run it at 1920x1080 120hz, it looks like shit, but at 60hz it looks fine. I figure the cable I'm using doesn't have the bandwidth for that. I suspect I need a dual link DVI-I cable? The monitor also supports HDMI, but I'm not sure what revision.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    You need dual-link or hdmi (shouldn't matter the cable specification, but usually 1.4)
  3. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    These HDMI cables rock they can carry lots of bandwidth. They use RedMere Tech so you can have smaller connectors, longer length and a smaller AWG.

    Though from looking around, many people say you can't do 1080p@120hz on HDMI, but with Rev. 1.4 you should be able to.1080p@120hz take about 10.2Gbps

    Rev2.0 is coming out also.
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
    mlee49 says thanks.
  4. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Thanks, thats actually very interesting.
  5. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    In what way does the picture look like shit?

    If the driver is allowing a 120Hz setting, then you already have it connected via a dual link connection.

    It sounds like you have a dodgy cable. Just get another dual link DVI cable - and don't spend big bucks on it, because they all perform identically, since this is a digital signal. Your picture won't be any better with an expensive cable, but your wallet will be lighter.

    Here's a great piece on why all HDMI cables are the same. Everything that applies to HDMI applies to DVI cables too.

    http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20056502-1/why-all-hdmi-cables-are-the-same
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Build quality of a cable can and does affect performance, or cables wouldn't go bad. Just sayin'. Not all cables are built the same, unfortunately. It's just like the SATA 6 Gb/s cable thing...it can and does matter, and yes, I have cables on hand that suck in both instances.
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Sure, just as long as they don't fall apart. Cables of sufficient quality can be had for just a few dollars. Those $50 Monster cables are a complete rippoff.

    Take a look at that article, it makes for fascinating reading!
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Yeah, but did you happen to check out the post from Delta? It shows a inexpensive cable with an integrated chip that isn't a common production for most HDMI cables.

    I've never heard of RedMere technology, and that puts an end to "All HDMI cables are made the same".
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It's not that simple though. Cables can produce artifacts, lead to monitor drop-outs, and look perfectly fine.

    Likewise, SATA cables can affect bandwidth.. I have one here that drops a 500 MB/s drive to 389 MB/s on SATA 6 Gb/s.

    It's not as simple as just plugging in a piece of copper between the two items and getting things to work properly..yes they can work easily, but when you delve into the high-end spectrum of things, cable choice can make a huge difference.


    Now, I'm not advertising that you buy Monster cables..there are many other more affordable choices out there...but the idea you can just buy any cable and have things working is not a good path to take, by my experience.

    I'm gonna say here, that if 120 Hz looks bad, it's more likely that it's due to a lack of system performance, not cabling. I'll also suggest that nothing other than DVI is used, too. HDMI can't do 2560x1600, so I'm not gonna bother with 1920x1080 @ 120 Hz, and recommend that others do not either. It's DVI, or DisplayPort. HDMI is a waste of time, IMHO, and should be removed from the market.
  10. s{orpion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    yes, build quality DOES make a difference...

    for standard dvd or net surfing you can use standard or cheap cables.

    BUT... if you are running hardcore HD gaming or blu-ray then invest in high quality cables.

    i have a 120mhz 47inch screen running games 1920x1080 native...

    tried several 'affordable' cables... all had noticeable quality issues...
    some even had performance problems... two cables actually 'died'.

    my ONLY recommendation is Monster high end cables... worth every penny! :rockout:
  11. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    [​IMG]
    qubit says thanks.
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just got an HDMI cable from walmart that said all over the packaging that it was full 1080p ready, and ready for up to 600hz displays, but yet I can't choose 120hz and it looks worse than it did with my single link DVI-D cable. I guess I need to find a dual link DVI-D or DVI-I cable somewhere...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,523 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,921
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
  15. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    That should of gave it away, the signal isn't anywhere near 600Hz (or the panel itself), it's done through frame interpolation.
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,523 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,921
    I've been using this exact cable for about four years now. Never a single problem regardless of display or output. :) Also, it seems to be quality stuff. The cable itself is nice and thick.
    qubit says thanks.
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,523 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,921
    Make sure your video card has a dual link DVI output as well.
  19. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Yeah, that cable is a lie, no HDMI cable can produce enough Gbps if it was a true 600hz.

    [​IMG]
  20. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yep, you need a dual link DVI cable. I own an ASUS VG236HE 1080p/120Hz and it does not allow over 1080p/60 with a single link cable. I'm curious as to why your monitor didn't come with the proper cable?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Bought used
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Ah, sorry, I should have read over your first post better. :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    try this for more info http://www.monstercable.com/hdmi/hdmi.asp

    I got two monster cable HDMI 1000 HDX Hyper Speed, abit pricey ;) But they rock .:rockout: I use one on my flat screen and one on my rig refresh rates I use on the tv is 240 Hz and on the pc 120Hz
    hope it help:toast:
  24. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    Get the one that are 3D capable cable to get the refresh rates that you need
  25. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    These monitors don't support 120Hz over HDMI though, only Dual Link DVI.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page