1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which card? Very High Object Texture in Crysis?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by HiddenStupid, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. HiddenStupid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Which card? Very High Object Texture in Crysis?

    I notice that my x850xt and some cards... in crysis the object texture restrict from setting it to Very High.

    Can these card set crysis Object Texture to Very High?

    1- dual 3870 X2 (quad)
    2- dual 9800 GX2 (quad)
    3- single 9600GT

    all of these can set it to very high on object texture? or no? or some? or ect....
     
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    If you're in XP, Very High will never be enabled. These are "Direct X 10 Exclusive." If you would like a way to enable Very High, see this article:

    http://www.crysis-online.com/forum/index.php?topic=11837.0#msg203789

    It works very well, but your card may not be able to handle it, depending on the resolution you are playing on. Remember to back up your CVARs!
     
  3. LuzSYfer

    LuzSYfer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    somewhere in the alps
    as mentioned above you will need dx10 for very high;
    i don't think that the 9600gt will be powerful enough to give you anything near playable on very high settings - with my 8800gt i can play with high settings, no AF, no AA on 1280x960
     
  4. HiddenStupid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    ohh..... wow never knew that we need vista to do that.
     
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Well, you don't. Look at the link that I posted.
     
  6. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    You can always 'fix' your CVars in XP too

    This site is very detailed for the DIYer, it really takes forever this way

    http://www.tweakguides.com/Crysis_1.html

    Or you can download this thing which is a CVars already set to go, you'll have to change the brightness, contrast, & gamma to fit your monitor though.

    http://www.crymod.com/thread.php?threadid=13790&page=1

    As for the card that can run this smoothly, both the 3870x2 & GX2 can @ 1920x1200 or less. The GTS can do it @ 1440x900. The 9600gt just don't have the power, or the shaders, to do it - SLI'd or not. & like DanishDevil said, always backup your CVars.

    That CVars make Crysis look & feel better by loading all the textures into a cache instead of updating it every time you move, which can make even the fastest pc's go into permanent hibernation :laugh:
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Either way your gonna need at least a 8800gts 512mb, tbh i think that you shouldnt get the 9600 becasue its basically a beefed up 8600.

    8800gts 512mb will allow you to get at least all medium on a good frame rate.

    Edit : 3870 X2 (quad) id rather go tri fire with a x2 and a single 3870 its cheaper and not that the much more that a 9800 Gx2
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    It is a lot more than a beefed up 8600, more like a cut down 8800GTS512.

    Though considering it performs better in Crysis than a 3870x2, I would say it is doing something right.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. FlipIt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    DUAL 9800 GTX x2 :rock:
     
  10. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    This is by far the best config I've seen yet:

    http://www.crymod.com/thread.php?threadid=21332

    It has 'low' to 'ultra high' settings although no pc on earth can play the UH settings or VH for that matter. I would only suggest the 'high' setting if you have a tri-fire setup, two GTS's or the GX2 even have a hard time with 'high'. I would also suggest that you go into the autoexec file and change the r_TexturesStreaming to '0' instead of '2' for obvious reasons: 0=off, 1=on, 2=uber. IMO, this config makes Crysis look like the best game ever created. A single GTS can still handle the 'low' & 'medium' settings but 'high' seems to cross another dimension.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  11. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Hmmm, what res are we talking about here, my hd3870 can do all high settings with around 25fps or so at 1680x1050. I don't know what monster you would need for very high though...
     
  12. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    That config is a whole new monster @ high 1680x1050, a 3870 would do about 5-10fps on high, & thats on the graphically ez levels, it would be a slide show on Assault & forget about Reckoning. I hardly get 40fps on 'High' @ 1680x1050 with Tri-fire.

    It just looks freakin glorious. Too bad we would need a 4800070x4 20gb DDR60 @74Ghz/152Ghz to play it on 'Ultra High' :rockout:
     
  13. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    all you guys are over-rating crysis, what res do you play games at??!

    if i can play with my rig at 1024 on all medium settings, im sure as hell that a 9600gt can play on high settings at 1280 and thats fine!
     
  14. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,574 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,924
    I tweaked the cfg files of Crysis to enable the "very high" setting on 1680x1050 and I get always 25+ fps on very high settings, occasionally in the 30's, but mostly in the 40's range of fps. With 16x AF, 2xAA, and with my cpu and gfx card oc'd as in my system specs.

    All I can say from experience (excluding cpu overclock) is that the 8800GT 512MB gets like 3x as much as the 8600GTS 256MB. I can say that because I've owned and tested both on benchmarks.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page