1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which card would you choose, and why?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by heky, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    888 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Hy there folks.

    I have the chance to change my GTX460 1Gb Hawk for one of the cards:
    HD5870 1Gb
    HD5970 2Gb(i have the CM 690II Advanced case, so the only way i can run this is in the second pci-ex slot, if at all(not sure))
    GTX 560ti 1Gb

    Which card would you choose, and why?
    I did read W1zzards reviews here, but cant make up my mind, so would like to hear your opinions.

    Thanks:toast:
     
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    HD 5970 because it's the fastest.
     
    yogurt_21 and heky say thanks.
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    yep, a 5970 is basically two 5850 together
     
    heky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Again 5970.
     
    heky says thanks.
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,998 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    4th 5970 for same reason
     
    heky says thanks.
  6. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    665 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Australia
    you sir must aquire said 5970 and reach dizzying height of blissful fps this is the only choice if it doesnt fit remove the components from the case...

    HD5970 FTW
     
    heky says thanks.
  7. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    888 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Thanks guys, was thinking the same thing. Just wanted to hear some opinions about it. So i will just have to get the 5970 and mod the case if it doesnt fit.:toast:

    Any other thoughts about running the 5970 in the 2nd slot on a p67 board?
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011
  8. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    793 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Yup, get or borrow a Dremel if necessary.
     
    heky says thanks.
  9. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    923 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    +1 5970 ftw
     
    heky says thanks.
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    You know, you could get the 5970 AND the 5870 and crossfire them. I don't think that 2600k at 4.8 is gonna really bottleneck them. Granted, you won't get the same increase in performance going from 2 GPUs to 3 GPUs as you would going from 1 GPU to 2 GPUs, but you'd still see a gain.
     
    heky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    +1
     
    heky says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  12. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    A 2600K at 4.8 Ghz would not bottleneck anything.... Perhaps something like an attempt at using four 6990's or 590's but certainly not the kind of setup he is talking about.
     
    heky says thanks.
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Until last post, 5970
     
  14. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I say the 560ti because I don't want to be the only one who makes foolish purchasing decisions. :D
     
  15. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    I say the 560 Ti cos dual GPU solutions = big style headaches.
     
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    HD 5970 says this nvidia fanboy, through gritted teeth.
     
    heky says thanks.
  17. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,469 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,515
    whats a Pc w/o something to attend too :p seriously tho, 5970 hands down, drivers are more mature for that card now and it shouldnt have probs with anything
     
    heky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I just read this:

    Dude, if someone gave me a choice between GTX 560 Ti and HD 5970 and my case didn't permit HD 5970, I'd still pick HD 5970 and run my whole system on a fu****g pizza box!
     
  19. timma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    of course,5970 +1 :toast:
     
    heky says thanks.
  20. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    5970.

    I had to make mine fit! :laugh:

    [​IMG]
     
    heky says thanks.
  21. kajson

    kajson

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    145 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I think i might have read that it does fit if you take out the harddrive slots. (which apparently are removable)
    It was a bit of a hot topic at the time.
     
  22. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Holy shit I can't believe your rocking a P5B in the same rig as an 5970 :rockout:

    +1 5970, silly question really and as others have said if it doesn't fit, make it!!!
     
    heky says thanks.
  23. John Doe Guest

  24. Huddo93

    Huddo93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    299 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    5970 For sure
     
    heky says thanks.
  25. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Of course 5970 dont even need to ask.
     
    heky says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page