1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

which CPU should i buy?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by El_Mayo, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The 720BE is the best price performance gaming CPU. If you're a bench whore, of course it's not the best.
     
  2. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    ahh yes.. but you forgot i'm also looking for how long that CPU can remain adequate
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It's a quad vs quad with near similar performance and technology. Neither will outlast each other.
     
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    so therefore, for gaming the 720BE for the price will last you a hell long of a time
     
  5. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    the 720BE can OC to 3.6 to 3.88 easy I believe... Also, you ave a chance iof unlocking the fourth core... I tell you, just go with that tri-core ;) you won't regret it!

    Besides, that Q8200 has a starting clock of 2.33ghz o_O that is plain bad lol...
     
  7. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    there's a fourth core? lmao
    why is it hidden?
    does the clock speed matter that much?
    i use dual core 2.0ghz atm
    seems fine to me
    does the clock speed matter more when it comes to games?
     
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,525 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    the X3 720 is a X4 920 with one of the cores disabled, there are certian motherboards that will allow you to enable the disabled core in your bios to give you 4 cores.

    Clockspeed does matter, to get the most out of todays games and video cards, you need atleast a 3.6 ghz clock speed, otherwise your CPU will prevent your video card from operating at it's peak performance.

    I run a dual core that runs stock at 3ghz(core2duo e8400). OC'ing it to 3.8 gives me alot of performance gains over the stock 3ghz. Though once I started going past 3.8, my gains started to quickly level out.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Not quite true. A 720 is a phenom II quad core with one core disabled, but not a 920. The 720 is a AM3 chip with a DDR3 controller. Unlike the 920 witch it a AM2+ chip with a DDR2 controller.
     
  10. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    so.. at the same clock speed..
    the 720 BE would perform better than the Q8200?
    although the Q8200 can overclock higher
    correct?
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Q8200 has a low multiplier, which on an intel platform, will hinder it's OC ability by a large margin unless you have a board capable of 500+FSB. And it's got a lot of cache missing. I'd take the 720 over anything under the Q9400 any day.
     
  12. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    ahh.. i'll get the 9550 then
     
  13. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    okay
    just had a thought:
    does overclocking increase power usage of a computer?
    i'd assume it does
     
  14. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    yes it does.... but why the 9550? GET THE 720BE! it's cheaper AND better
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2009
  15. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    once again.. i've been told intel is much better from a close friend
    he's almost always right
     
  16. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    720BE is half the price! and intel vs AMD is crap, they are both great... I'm sorry to tell you, but you friend is biased
     
  17. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    yeah.. but i'm buying the pc parts off him (for a much lower price)
    and he's physically refused to sell me anything by AMD or ATi
    maybe tough love.. i don't know lol
     
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Then buy somewhere else.... or tell him to join TPU and I'll have a friendly chat with him... unless he sells you a new Q9550 for 130$
     
  19. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    yeah he probably will be able to get it for that price
    i won't be ordering for a while.. so this CPU should become rather cheap
     
  20. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    so he'll get it HALF price?
     
  21. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    possibly
    could be even less
    he works for fujitsu.. and he just gives them an order and they give him the price
    he says about a 40% discount on the whole pc (no build cost)
     
  22. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,120 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    if he can get it that price ill take one too thanks

    i allways tell people unless they want the greatest and latest then amd is now a fine choice, people are allways comparing amd to TOP INTEL and its not right

    the x3 720BE is a fine cpu for gaming and work, media it can do everything just that nothing needs the power of an intel i7 yet
     
  23. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    yeah i completely agree... hence why i'm going to get anything higher than the Q8200 from intel :)
    i read somewhere that the even the Phenom II was outperformed by Q6600's (toms hardware)
     
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Q6600 is a known OCer that's why... anyways, tell us your budget, if you can get 40% discount, then the probability is you can go i7 xD or else tell us the price you can get the 720BE for and then other QXXXXs for...

    off-topic: btw, could you hook me up with him? I have NO RIG :( I am willing to pay a bit more aso that you and him get a bit of profit ;) btw, where do you live?
     
  25. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    in the UK mate =D
    i'll talk to him mate :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page