1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which graphics card to choose ??

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Rey17, Apr 27, 2008.

  1. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    hey guys,

    im wondering of getting my pc into better shape, i want to add more RAM and a better graphics card,

    i want the maximum my pc can hold which is 4gb.... type: PC2-4200 DDR2 SDRAM

    and my graphics card, im not really sure but i want one which wont put alot of pressure on the processor, i want one which is good in price to performance, probably the high 7xxxx series......

    lol im not sure if my graphics card is pci express or normal prci.... but im sure its not AGP.....

    your thoughts, and one more thing, i live in australia, so tell me the price of them in australia...


    actually i just found out that my graphics card is pci express x16 !
    thanks in advance
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2008
  2. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    one more thing, can anyone find me a good processor to go with it, over 3 ghz.... for the computer not the graphics card or RAM...
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    By reading up on the motherboard you have in system specs. That board you have is a little limited on the overclock end but it can support up to an e6xxx series Intel cpu.

    Also, you have 4 dimm slots up to PC5300, and 1 PCIe x16 slot.

    If your budget conscience, look into an e4500 and either an 8800GS/9600GSO, a 9600GT, or an HD3850.

    Oh and to add, faster ram is usually better than more ram. For example, 4GB of DDR PC4200 would get outperformed by 2GB of PC5300.
  4. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    but isnt my mother board only allowed to be used by pc2-4200 rams only ???

    and can my computer be used with intel dual core ????????? i never new that ??? i thought it was only pentium D ???
  5. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    • Socket: 775
    • Supports the following processors:
    o Pentium D 800 series (Smithfield)
    o Pentium 4 600 series (Prescott)
    o Pentium 4 HT (Prescott)


    this is what it says on the HP website
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  7. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    dont worry about that RAM, i found out your right about pc 5300... i didnt read the memory part proplery on the HP website lol......

    i think ill get a 9600 GT graphics because they are cheaper and are very very good !!

    and still wondering that intel core 2 duo would work on my PC ??
  8. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    mine is a Emery version... sorry forgot to tell you
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well in that case, you are at the best you can pretty much get on that motherboard. A 9600gt should be fine.

    But now it comes down to if your power supply would be up to snuff.
  10. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Thanks but I myself as well already read it.
  12. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    well, your in luck, unlike most of hps pc's it looks like that computer has a standard micro atx motherboard, you should be able to replace it as long as it has a "normal" psu.

    If you change the board you can get a E21XX cpu which are all a good bit faster than the pentium d's and cheap as well
  13. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    thnx for the help,

    @kainXS: which motherboard should i get that would accept all of the other hardware except for processors and graphics card......

    because i do not wanna spend alot of money buying a new mother board and everynew new.... just want to buy a new graphics card and a strong processor and if possible a new mobo which would accept all of things that my computer already had and the new things...

    and is a E21xx a intel core 2 duo processor ?? if it is then thats fine..... and my computer does have a normal psu, its been there since i bought it so i think its normal.....lol

    and last, can you tell me the estimated price if i change to a new micro atx mother board, a 9600gt and a e21xx processor..... how much would it be roughly ??

    you can tell me in american dollars and ill convert it to aussie dollars.

    ----------------------------------

    but if you check on wikipedia about the pentium D, then there is a extreme version too ??

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_D

    can you look at benchmarks for the pentium D 840 (smithfield)...... this processor is the extreme version and by the way my computer can support it !!! :D !!
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Rey, what he meant by "normal" is sometimes HP's need a proprietary power supply which from what we can tell it does not.

    Butwhat happens if you get a new 9600GT that requires 300W/18A on your 12V rail and you only have 15A/250W available?

    Your rig won't boot properly and whenever you try to launch a game it will crash. So, instead of purchasing a new processor or motherboard look into a new power supply instead.
  15. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    sorry my bad....

    well i think your right about the psu first.... ill try to find a good one... do you have any suggestions though ??
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well, look into some ePowers, Corsairs, OCZ's, and Antec's earthwatts line. Heck even the Antec Earthwatts 380W model would be plenty but you may want some headroom.
  17. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    oh cool thnx.....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page