1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

which is better 1950xt 256/256 or x1900xt 512/256

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Georgian, Apr 16, 2007.

  1. Georgian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi people i am going to buy a new card and I am interested which is better
    1. sapphire X1900XT 512MB 256-bit 8-channel GDDR3
    Core Speed : 625
    Memory Speed : 1.45
    Pixel Shader Processors : 48
    Vertex Shader : 8
    or
    2. Sapphire X1950XT 256MB 256Bit GDDR3 AVIVO
    Core Clock: 625
    Pixel Pipelines: 12(48 Processors)
    Memory Clock 1.8Ghz

    and which has more overclocking capabilities and how large PSU will it need??

    i get this cards for about the same price x1950 240$ and x1900 250$ but 1950 will need 10-15 days for arrival and x1900 is already here but i dont care ill wait 10 days if its worth it :)

    ---
    or maybe its better to buy
    Sapphire X1800GTO 256mb 256bit 500-1000 for 180$??
    or should i wait for R600 release and add a little more and buy a DX 10 card ?? :)
    and in theory in first weeks after release will i be able to buy a DX10 card for around 300$ ?? or only amd knows that? :D
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2007
  2. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2007
  3. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    If you are going for high res gaming the X1900XT is the way to go, anything on or under 1280x1024 the X1950XT. Generally I would choose the X1950XT because its newer, just don't get annoyed by the Dustbuster Rev.2 (Rev.1 was the one on the FX5900 :laugh:). Try to get some aftermarket cooling (like an AcceleroX2 or something like that).

    EDIT: GPU Review = pfft purely open user...
  4. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    x1950xt ftw also

    just got my accelero X2 today and cant bloddy fit it because the screws on the back of the stock hsf are teeny and i havent got a small enough screwdriver to get them off (even tried with a knife and thought id better not just incase :wtf: ) lost all my decent screwdrivers when i moved house, should get one tomorrow tho ;)

    (p.s sorry for the little thread hijack, as i said x1950xt ftw just as its the newer/faster card even though its only got the 256mb )
  5. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    LOL any computer "technician" should have small screwdrivers.. You know a normal screwdriver can turn them, you just have to be careful when aligning the screw head. Mullered you want join my club? Take photos of ur AcceleroX2, then with the Accelero installed :D, do you have the normal HIS cooler?
  6. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    yeah at the mo have the normal his cooler installed and not the iceq, trust me you cant get these screws off with my screwdrivers, but ill be buying a few more tomorrow as i said lost a lot when i moved :shadedshu , and ill join your club tk ;) once i get my accelero installed and updated my rig pics

    also installed the coolermaster hyper tx 775 cooler today, v pretty :p so expect to see some pics of that when i install the accelero aswell ;)
  7. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Nah take pics of it now, with the normal cooler... there are two types of non-his HIS models.. the "Good type" (Seperate copper heatsink for VRMS) and the "Standard, VRM nightmare" type (or the reference cooler). If you have the one that blows air towards the front of the case... you don't need to install the VRM Plate (Unless you want the color scheme to match up).
  8. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page