1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which is better

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AMOCO, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. AMOCO New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AMD Athlon 64 3700+(2.2GHz)San Diego(in the box) or AMD Athlon 64 4000+(2.4GHz)San Diego(OEM)
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    The 3700 comes w/fan+heatsink the 4000 is faster and does not come with a fan+heatsink.
    If you have a fan+heatsink thats fits the 4000 is better.
  3. AMOCO New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    cool ,because i have a thermaltake bigwater se for the cpu.ty for your answer
  4. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    I say the 4000 cos i own one and overclock it to 3ghz very easy with a arctic freezer 64 pro max temp under extreme load is 43c i run it at this 24/7 never had a problem and its at default voltage.
  5. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    i would say if your are going to overclock check out the stepping!!

    and as your are going to overclock you are not going to want to keep the stock cooler so its a choice between the two, there isnt much in it!!

    i have the highest single core amd on this forum atm but im sure a 4000 with the right stepping could beat it!! but id say look for steppings on google and see if you can get one of the two with a good stepping!!
  6. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    OMG!! mines at 3ghz and my 3dmark 05 score is 10746 :laugh: so i dont think ill bother trying to push it to 3.3ghz

    http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c333/sodclan/3dmark05withwarcat7.jpg
  7. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    4000 its a really good cpu even tho the 3700 is too also 4000 overclocks well too
  8. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    i think mines the safer option im at 3ghz on 1.376v which is just below default and my max temp is 43c only thing i wish i did get is pc4000 ram @500mhz so i can run it matched with my cpu fsb of 250mhz im sure that would push my 3D mark score into the 12000 range
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2007
  9. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Go for the 4000+, both are good CPU's (Ive owned both) Both overclock nicely too ;)
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,421 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,357
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I am actually sat here with my 4000+ at 3.2Gig (24/7) on 1.45V.......now that is a sweet CPU! Some 3700's can clock as well but generally most cant and the 3700 will need more volts.

    The sad thing with mine is to get it just to increase from 3.2Gig to 3.27Gig I need to increase volts to 1.575V !!
  11. SlipSlice

    SlipSlice New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    770 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have the San Diego 3700+ 2.2ghz stock..I only have it at 2.3ghz right now... I have to get another cooler for it though, because this fan doesn't really keep it that kewl. I can stay under 50 at 2.5ghz at load, but i like to keep my stuff cool.

    I guarantee you if you have a good cooler, and you have at least a couple case fans, and a cool room wouldn't hurt, you are guaranteed to get at least 2.7ghz out of it..and up :)

    s1ip
  12. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    like every1 has said they are both good cpu's! it depends how much cheap the 3700 is compared with the 4000, if you are on a budget get the 3700 and the money u have get a good cooler, as a 3700 will be more safe with a good cooler then a 4000 on a stock cooler

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page