1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which is the best TV Tuner card ?

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by michael, May 19, 2013.

  1. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    381 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    India
    Hi Guys,
    Which is the best TV Tuner card to record TV shows in 1080P HD ?
    It should also record HD TV channels.

    Please guide me. I need to buy it.:D
  2. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,073 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I believe this will: Ceton InfiniTV 4 Quad-tuner Card for Watching Digi...

    However, I understand the Ceton Tuner requires the same control card as your basic cable box. This is something you will have to ask your cable provider to....well provide. They should not have a problem with this.
    FordGT90Concept and michael say thanks.
  3. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    381 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    India
    I need to know from Avermedia company
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,686 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Location:
    Oregon
    SiliconDust HDHomeRun is the only tuner I would buy
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,329 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    -HDTV (ATSC and PAL) is 1080i, not 1080p.
    -Computer TV tuners do not work with digital cable. They need QAM decrypters and that's basically non-existant. You'd have to get the tuner directly from the cable provider. Edit: TheLaughingMan's suggestion looks like it overcomes this issue.
    -Computer TV tuners are only good for over-the-air signals and potentially analog signals. Edit: TheLaughingMan's suggestion looks like it overcomes this issue.
    -If you're intending to just capture a signal from another device, you need a capture card, not a TV tuner.

    I have an Asus NyCinema EH3160 Combo card. It works great for OTA HDTV and analog using Windows Media Center. The FM tuner works well but it clearly has buffering problems. If you listen to radio for 30-60 minutes, it will eventually start skipping. I have to pause it for a while then resume. It'll stop for a while until it gets caught up and runs into buffering problems again. Kind of annoying, but it works.
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    173 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    i have a hdhomerun dual

    its awesome for OTA HDTV and has dual tuners as the name implies but only takes in one input.

    if you need to do this with hd cable then you will need either the ceton or the hdhomerun prime...

    both can do 2/4 channels with the right cable card from your cable provider...

    satellite gets a little tricky...not sure on it probably a capture card. maybe firewire used to work...but never tried it..

    the nice side to network turner (like my dual) is any pc that is connected can use the tuners and it works from mac/linux/windows and you can watch two channels at the same time.
  7. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,217 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    427
    After some USB tv sticks i use a PCI-Express card: Hauppauge Capture HD, and it is MUCH more stable than anything I 've had before.
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    I have several ATi HD750 based tuners in USB form all of which work well with WMC. They are cheap, work, have good drivers and are available from almost any manufacturer you can think of.
  9. CBRworm

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I use the HDHomeRun Prime w/ a Comcast cablecard and have had great luck with it - my biggest complaint is that 3 tuners is not enough. To get more tuners using silicon dust components, you need more cable cards. Comcast charges an HD outlet fee for each card along with the card rental - so the $2 a month rental is really $12 a month.

    The next caveat is that to record HD shows - most likely they are copy protected or have some form of DRM. This requires you to use Windows Media Center to record - which works fine, but may not be your first choice. There may be some workarounds, but I have not found any.

    Ceton just released, or is about to release a single box (InfiniTV6) with 6 tuners that uses a single cable card. If my HDHomerun Prime didn't work so well, I would probably buy one of these. My fear is that I have 4 televisions set up using my current config and it just works. It took a bit of work to get there and I hate the thought of messing it up.
    michael says thanks.
  10. Compgeke

    Compgeke

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    I have a Happauge WinTV HVR-1800 that does ATSC\NTSC\QAM with 1080i support. Randomly has a FM tuner as well, but it's nowhere near the quality of my 70s Kenwood receiver.
    michael says thanks.
  11. CBRworm

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    It's funny how poor most FM receivers are these days. My 70's pioneer is also quite good compared to what I run into today.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page