1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which Kaspersky version did you get with ASUS ROG mobo?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RejZoR, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Can you guys with very latest ASUS ROG motherboards (Formula 3, Rampage 3 Gene etc) check your motherboard disc for what ASUS Kaspersky did you get with it?
    I'm asking because i've got KAV 7.0 with it, which stupidly doesn't work with Windows 7 (at all).
    License doesn't seem to be upgradeable to any higher so i'm stuck with a program that was outdated from the start (which is lame, considering this was also one of the reasons why i picked ROG class mobo). Checking Kaspersky page and version 9.0 (2010) already supports Win7.

    So, which version did you get with your latest ROG mobo?

    Thx
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    that seems weird, most kaspersky keys can be upgraded.

    have you tried installing the trial of the latest version, and merely entering the key?

    edit: holy crap, we have the same join date :p
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I've just tried installing KAV2011 over and even though it did upgraded, it refused to accept ASUS license. Lame and stupid. That's why i'm asking if anyone with ROG motherboard got any newer version of Kaspersky with it.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    damn.


    well it depends when the motherboard was made i guess, if you got an older board, you'd get an older kaspersky with it - they dont magically update the disk in the box when you order it :p


    try contacting asus and kaspersky, you may be able to get a free upgrade or discount, respectively.
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    It was not old, also KAV was already outdated when i bought it (version 8.0 was already out when i bought it or was it 9.0). I was asking on KAV forums but they said it cannot be updated and that it's an ASUS problem not theirs. Which is stupid. Why supply AV with it if it's outdated out of the box. And the whole point of AV is to be always up to date.
     
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    haha, RejZoR u want a legal Kaspersky Internet Security 2010?
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    No, i'd like to have casual KAV (not KIS), just not a version from the last decade but something more recent...
     
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    oki, KAV i can't do, only KIS2010 that also works on Win7 ^^
     
  9. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    C4F Bought in May 2010:
    [​IMG]
     
    RejZoR says thanks.
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,252 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Location:
    US
    The version goes by when the mobo was 1st released not buy when you brought the mobo.

    I had it with mine too and was not able use a newer version.


    Maybe complain to ASUS as you would think that it be supported by. Some times they do updates too so check there site.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    The thing is, you can't download it from their site. You only get it on disc that comes with the mobo. Same goes for 3DMark 2003 which i got with it. It's on the disc but not on their webpage.
    I'll see what i can do, but i'm not hoping too much on ASUS as my country falls under eastern europe and tech support is crappy at best for this region. Maybe in some other way...
     
  12. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,785 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    @RejZoR,

    I believe (and someone please correct me if I am wrong) that the Kaspersky that come with Asus mobos is only a 'trial' version. That is most likely why the key will not work on a 'full' version.

    However, why not ask Kaspersky?
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    they give you a full version, but usually only for 30 or 60 days (which is longer than the 14 day trial)


    since he got such an old version of kaspersky, i can only assume he bought an older motherboard - he never specified what board it was, that i could see.
     
  14. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    The license that came with it was for full 1 year (and whenever you installed it you got 1 year). The board is in my system specs. It's the ASUS Rampage II Gene...
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I mean if they do go the way to offer software with it, it should at least be upgradeable. Especially antivirus software since it's crucial to have it always up to date.
     
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    scaminatrix supplied me just the key because he is on a crappy net connection, but i can't use that very key with a commercial version. It has to be the complete ASUS installer. Can anyone else with ASUS ROG mobo and KAV2010 (KAV 9.0) supply it to me? It's not the latest version (which is KAV2011 v11), but it works with Win7.
    Thx
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,249 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,287
    This seems like a lot of work just to use software that has free alternatives that are just as good(or better)...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  18. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,389 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    [​IMG]

    You can have mine....I am already running KIS 2011
     
    RejZoR says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,389 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Please tell me the name of the "free alternatives and just as good (or better)".....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,249 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,287
    A few off the top of my head:

    AVG Free
    Avira
    Avast
    Microsoft Security Essentials

    All do just as good of a job, and there really isn't any reason anyone would need more than what they offer.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,389 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    I can only strongly disagree on that....but we will have to take this on in another thread....
    I will not hijack this thread.....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    VulkanBros, can you upload it somewhere and send me the link to mail or PM? I only need the english version, so you don't have to upload everything. Thx
     
  23. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,389 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Uploading it to DropBox right now...can you PM me your email address...then I will send you an invitation to the DropBox folder
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,785 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    OK, all I know is, when I bought my SE in 2007, it came with a 6 month version that would not update to a newer release. I suppose Asus has wised up since then?
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,849 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I also got 90 day Symantec Internet Security with ASUS P5Q Deluxe, but ROG is different, you get the real deal thing.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page