1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which memory would be a good bang for the buck

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by bruins004, Feb 27, 2006.

  1. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the best bang for buck would be what most system makers use.. some oem nanya pc 3200 stuff..

    however i have a feeing my answer aint really the one u wanted.. he he he..

    trog
     
  3. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Lol Thanks for the response Trog,
    I was looking at OCZ and Corsair bc both were around the same timings. But I do know Corsair is recognized by most boards, but the OCZ is a really good deal and I gotta order one by EOD today.
     
  4. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    yes.. i know i am well in a minority here thinking that with an amd 64 system expensive memory is a waste of money but in the UK it was 2 gig of nanya at £100 or 2 gig of something "better" at £200.. for something like a 2% overall performance increase i decided the £100 would be better spent elswhere.. he he..

    i was also reasonably certain the nanya stuff would actually work.. which wasnt something i could say about some of the more expensive options..

    trog
     
  5. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,439 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    Location:
    AZ
    also are you planning on overclocking? cause that matters alot. then you'd need a good set of mem chips that like higher frequencies other wise go for some cheaper stuff as better timings help but really aren't worth is if you plan to leave the cpu at stock.
     
  6. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Not looking to OC the memory. I want a brand name though... Thats why I figure why not go with the OCZ Platinum ones since they are $199-$40 = 159 bucks for 2 gigs. Thats a GOOD deal. I was going to get the Patriot memory (around $150) until I saw this deal. I just wanted to check if this was a good idea. This will allow to give me the option of OC if I ever want to. If there is cheaper please let me know, but I dont think lower than 150 can be found for 2 GB
     
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,367 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,677
    Location:
    Florida
    corsair is what i would buy over ocz but if you are worried about compatability i would go ocz if u have a hazy board but i have never heard of corsair having compatability issues...........ok that was prob the answer u were looking for now to continue what trog started..........


    nanya 1gig is treating me fine and at decent timings cant complain 1 bit and since i dont whant anything more than 1 gig i cant see the logic in getting expensive ram if this is doing a damn fine job :)
     
  8. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,439 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    Location:
    AZ
  9. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I was just looking around and the Corsair Value RAM is one of the cheapest I could find going for $145 for 2 GB. Patriot is going for $150 and Kingston is going for $155. Obviously cant find a deal like this anywhere else. I remember when I bought my Kingston Value RAM for my other rig I got 2 x 512s for $140-30 = $110. If I knew that i woulda def. went for 2 x 1 gb sticks
     
  10. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    nanya 2 gigs is treating me fine.. i am also able to run a 700mhz overclock on my cpu with oem nanya memory..

    nanya has a fancy brand name for performance memory i think its A-data.. good stuff from what i read..

    trog
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page