1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

which mobo will be best for my upgrade??

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by xtzc, Jun 28, 2007.

?

witch mobo is best 4 my upgrade

  1. ASRock K8NF3 - VSTA (754)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. GIGABYTE MF3 (AM2)

    9 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. xtzc

    xtzc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey guyz..i spoke with my mobo seler and he sayd that i coud go for an upgrade..so noi i have a mercury kvt600x-l v1.1 skA and have to choose btween a 754 ASrock mobo( http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=K8NF3-VSTA&s=754 ) and a gigabyte am2 MF3 mobo( http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products...Overview.aspx?ProductID=2428&ModelName=GA-MF3 )

    i dont want to change my video card cuz i think itz great(leadtek A6600gt tdh) and for the asrock model i coud go for a athlon64 3000+ cpu (40$)(rest of the parts i can take from my old pc) the am2 cpu costs about 70$.. and i have to change the ramm too...

    so i'm in a dilema ..any opinions???

    regards
     
  2. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Those boards aren't exactly a upgrade :p.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  3. xtzc

    xtzc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have a SK A mobo on a athlon XP 2000+ ... for me they are:pP
     
  4. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    i vote am2 :)
    with new ram, cpu mobo :)
    btw, no offense, but your gfx isn't all that great
     
  5. quasar923 Guest

    754? wtf get a 775LGA or get the am2 and go daul core 3800X2 for cheep like wat i have and i got an OC of 2.6 on it fro, 2.0. well i have 939 but still. its like 60 or less i think. and ram get some mushkin value ram thats wat i got for ddr and its nice i pout some heatspreaders on them it doesnt seem to let me OC much more but still go for that. and yea your gpu sucks balls.
     
  6. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    the gigabyte socket am2 board has my vote.

    get an athlon 64 x2.


    if you live in the US go to www.newegg.com and look through their combos deals...they have some pretty sweet stuff.
     
  7. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    give us your budget and we will find you a motherboard, processor, and ram to fit into it.
     
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    am2
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    AM2, May be a little more right now but will give you whole bunch more options later. Also I noticed its an AGP slot motherboard versus a PCI-e.

    I would hold off til you get lil bit more $$ to upgrade your grfx too, to switch over to PCI-e.
     
  10. xtzc

    xtzc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i had a ati9600pro till las week,sold it and bought that leadtek.was a cheap deal and got some boost in my performance.and like i said in the frst post,the new mobo is an upgrade,the reseler(from witch i bought my current mobo sayd that is posible to take the mobo back and with some xtra $ i could get a new one,of my choice...i dont have a lot of money so i have to think this through...if i get the 754asrock mobo i have to change only the cpu..for the AM2 mobo i have to change the ddrz too(theyr not that expensive bust still..a 512MB ddrII dim costs less than 30$...
    Another thing,why u guys say that my 6600 sux,(it seeamed to me a good deal and the performance boost is obvious)im asking this cuz im a ati fan and i dont know that muck about nvidia...

    anywayz tnx for the qck replies

    regards
     
  11. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    ok, letd so this by points:
    1 - wher do you live? (shopping purposes)
    2 - wich games do you play?
    3 - whats your budget if you sell the mobo and gfx card
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I never said a 6600 totally sucks, Its still a decent card for the older games.
     
  13. xtzc

    xtzc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i'm from romania,im plaing c&c generals/tiberium wars,company of heroes,painkiller,tomb raider anniversary/legends,nfs most wanted/carbon,warcraftIII,cold fear...etc,and for the third time my current mobo wont be sold i just have to take it back to the reseler and with a "few" extra $ i can get a new one but to aproximate the sum of $ i have to pay is ~35$ then i hav to spend 50$ on ramm and 70-80$ on a cpu...
    I dont realy whant to sell my Gfx,it works great and i just bought it this week(swapped my 9600pro + extra $ for it)
     
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Am2
     
  15. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    if you could sell, it you might get a 86gt or 85gt
     
  16. xtzc

    xtzc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks guyz..ill go for the gigabyte MF3..
    regards
     
  17. xtzc

    xtzc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    closed.tx
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page