1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which motherboard for Phenom II

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Paulieg, Jan 4, 2009.

  1. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
  2. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    Hi

    @Paulieg

    Your BIOSTAR is recoverable, just ask to a friend whit on similar board with SPI eeprom socket to flash it back to an working bios. In 5 min you will have it again. ;)

    If you don't know how, I sure some one ( including me ) can help you.

    On topic, from the 3 ones you posted, ASUS.

    But you should consider other offerings.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2009
    Paulieg says thanks.
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,966 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,626
    his board was a BIOSTAR
     
    aGeoM says thanks.
  4. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,279 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    Paulie... from Biostars website

    so you should be able to reflash it with a usb flash pen drive...?
     
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, but if you can't post, you can't flash. :(
     
  6. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    Yeap, but not always.

    Some times when the bios is corrupted, the Recovery procedure try to read an floppy, USB Stick or evan the CD-Rom, without posting any image on monitor, and search for the bios file to be programmed.

    @eidairaman1

    Thanks, I know it, for some reason i wrote Gigabyte. Post edited.
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,231 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  8. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Get rid of that BIOSTAR. Get yourself of those two nomination in PII thread ASUS and DFI one.
     
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,966 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,626
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2009
    Paulieg says thanks.
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,231 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  11. Rebo&Zooty

    Rebo&Zooty New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    490 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    i would get the jetway "hummer" seen some good reports on a few sites about it.

    and you could also just head over to RH and get poly to flash your bios chip back to working for you couldnt you?

    I would love a gx3, been a board i been eyeing since it hit the biostar US site(tho i like the gx's sata port config better.......damn choices!!!!)
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
  12. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,279 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,966 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,626
    well apparently BIOReLife is a Software utility, i believe has to be installed into windows first and then follow onscreen directions, and i guess there is printouts on how to recover the machine.

    http://maskwinter.co.cc/?p=117
     
  14. Rebo&Zooty

    Rebo&Zooty New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    490 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    exactly!!!

    I have had a good number of boards you could blind recover after the bios got crupt, many u just slap the bios file on a floppy(flash drive these days) and power the board on, leave it be for a while, if possable it will recover.

    worse case, polygon on rebelshaven WILL help you, hes got ZERO issue hotflashing chips for people, IF you havent gone over to RH then your missing out on alot of good info about biostar!!!(hell biostar's us site links RH as the biostar community site ;) )
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,966 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,626
    another website that does hotflashes

    http://www.loggan26.aquiss.com/

    more info

    http://www.loggan26.aquiss.com/Bootable_USB_Stick.html

    Hotflash basics

    "Hotflashing? If you have a spare bios rom or a bios rom from another NF2 mobo then you can try and recover a ”dead” UI/LPB bios rom if you have hosed it. The theory is :- pull the dead Bios rom from your mobo. Place a piece of Dental floss (or Super Glue a Nail to the working Bios Rom for easier extraction) in the Bios socket and then insert your working Bios into the socket, boot the mobo to A:/ Prompt. Pull the working bios GENTLY with the aid of Dental Floss (Nail) etc and replace with your non working bios, Flash the non working Bios rom with the .BIN of your choice, reboot and enter your bios and load defaults (or follow procedures for flashing your bios here) hopefully you will have resurrected your ”dead” mobo. Obviously this whole procedure is very dangerous as your PC has to be powered the whole time while you are working around live components, a slip and you could get a nasty shock or at worse fry your PC. Extreme care should be taken when attempting any of the above."

    Thanks loggan26 (DIYStreet-TMods DFI BIOS CD)

    http://www.loggan26.aquiss.com/Custom_Flash.html
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  16. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,279 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    I love how this has become a recover thread now, lol... I'd say it's worth a shot, save the $100+ if you can!
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,966 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,626
    ive been in this situation before, thats why i buy a new chip with a bios on it for recovery purposes.
     
  18. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    And I run from a soldered bios like the Devil runs from an Cross. :roll:
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,966 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,626
    there are services to get that changed.
     
  20. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    Yes they are, but it will void the warranty.
     
  21. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Thanks guys. I've hot flashed before, but I guess I didn't love the board enough to try it. Maybe later. As for now, I'm buying a new board. Just can't decide.
     
  22. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,279 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    lol well then hot flash it, and send it to me! :p Again I say ASUS
     
  23. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Finding the right "insert anything here" is always hard.
     
  24. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    You should know what is best for you, but don't give up, the choices for 790GX are no much more better than what you already have.

    I just flashed to the latest bios supporting Deneb, and wow, there is a new debug option, it's just amazing ( even I don't know much about the new options ), gonna restart and take a photo for you guys.

    Edit:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  25. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I suppose my biggest issue is that I love the DFI bios, and I've had a hard time finding another bios that compares. I think the DFI 790GX would be my first choice, except for the fact that there is no external DVI connector. WTF is that?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page