1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which one is better value for money?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ghost101, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
  2. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  3. v-zero Guest

  4. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    :ohwell: ummm 512mb x1950pro will not kick the crap out of a 256mb x1950pro unless ur playing at lcd resolution and then the difference is not huge
  5. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Yeh ive seen that. The problem is that i have free delivery at scan, and even with super saver delivery at ebuyer, it works ot to be more expensive.

    And yeh, i was thinking x1950pro as well, but after looking through gaming benchmarks at 1280x1024 4x/16x , it seems they are very close.
  6. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Yep, only 1280*1024.
  7. v-zero Guest

    Ok, should have said. At 12x10 it doesn't matter 512 or 256, but at 16x12 it does, big time...

    And also, in future the x1950 is likely to perform better. Games are moving towards more shader intensive OPS, and that's where the x1900/50 marchitechture shines...
  8. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    even at 1600x the 256 mb will only drop a couple of fps compared to the 512mb and at 60+fps there is no visible difference, anything abiove 1600x then go for the 512mb imo
  9. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Can nvidia cards do HDR and AA at the same time now?
  10. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I'm very happy with my new sapphire X1950Pro, only got it yesterday, but have it running sweet, only thing that lets me down is mobo and ram, which are both getting upgraded just after xmas, waiting for 2x 1gb corsair xms2 pro pc2 6400 cl4 with activity led's for £160 coming into stock and im getting gigabyte P965 mobo for £89

    Who needs santa anyway lol

    ;)
  11. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
  12. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Hey ghost read my last post, how much did you pay for your ram? ;)
  13. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    x1950pro FTW :rockout:
  14. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    £178 i think from overclcokers.co.uk
  15. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Its big improvement on X1650Pro, which aint as bad as everyone makes out lol

    Just want my other new bits badly :(
  16. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Nice 1, I will hold out little longer for stock, im a scrooge lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page