1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which one of these rigs should i go for, AMD or Intel?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hooj, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Hey below are two rigs for:
    1. Maya - Modeling/ Animation and Rendering
    2. UDK - Games Development
    3. Photoshop
    4. Dreamweaver
    5. Video Editing
    6. Computer Games

    Which one would be better and more future proof?

    Rig 1 = i7 Quad
    [​IMG]


    Rig 2 = AMD Hex Core
    [​IMG]


    I will be using Windows 7 64-bit along with the GPU and PSU in my current system.

    Also when things start to improve can i only assume that the hex core would speed up in applications and the i7 quad would seemingly slow down?
     
  2. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Any suggestions as i would like to purchase sometime this week...?
     
  3. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    rig 2
     
    hooj says thanks.
  4. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Thanks and congratulations for being the first to reply!:toast:

    But could you give me a reason why please?
     
  5. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    most,if not all of the programs are VERY cpu intensive and in these programs the six core monster will do much better than the 930 :) in gaming they are ~ equal but in rendering and editing the 1090T is the right way to go
     
    hooj says thanks.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,785 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,164
    Great choice on the RAM selection for rig #2!

    I'm not being some AMD/Intel conspiratist here, but while both systems will perform very well and are very similar, I would go with #2.

    You get a top tier motherboard. Six cores with an unlocked multi which makes things a bit easier to tweak if you come to a time when you need to.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  7. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Thanks erocker it's actually the cheapest set in the section i found it in on overclockers plus it matches the Motherboard!:laugh:
     
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I have an i7 and i love it, it's a very powerful CPU, especially in those programs.

    BUT i personally do believe that the AMD X6 would help more to an extent in those programs and at a bit of a cheaper price to.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  9. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    I'm going to agree with everyone else on #2. My reasons are as follows:
    -i7 may edge out a bit in games, but the 6 core will win in the apps you mentioned
    -i7 has better memory bandwidth, but not enough for me to change my opinion
    -890FX is an excellent chipset and should be decent for a while (6xsata6 as opposed to 2; same number of usb 3.0 though)
    -both chips are fantastic OCers

    All in all both are excellent systems and I honestly don't think you could go wrong either way.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  10. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Rig 2, same reason that everybody stated
     
    hooj says thanks.
  11. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    909 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    yep rig2, i have that motherboard and cpu and its smexy
     
    hooj says thanks.
  12. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Thank you all for your suggestions, looks like i won't be going Intel just yet!!

    *Clicks Buy*
    :toast:
    :D
     
  13. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
  14. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Your PSU should be fine, video card should be fine depending on the resolution and level of detail you expect. I would keep the 9600 GT for another year and then look to replace it. However if you've are itching to upgrade it you can pick up a nice GTX 460 768MB for about £150 or the 5850 for about £200 and it'll be a huge upgrade video card wise.


    http://overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-000-PL
    http://overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-148-XF
     
    hooj says thanks.
  15. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Thanks for the advice and those are some great, cheap GPU upgrades. As for using my 500W and 9600GT, i just checked on this sites PSU calculator and it says i need:
    Did it just add some on for good measure?
     
  16. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    i7 would be faster in general. PII x6 would be better maybe for applications optimized for six cores which are rare. Depends of your needs. Me for example I like to play with vmware test some network scenarios so I tend to use couple of virtual machines at once so PII x6 would be maybe better choice for me. You have to think what you want to do with the PC.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  17. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    May i ask do you have to buy from overclockers?? Because i am pretty sure you can get those parts cheaper on scan or ebuyer.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  18. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Oh right i forgot about scan haha thanks.
     
  19. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  20. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    OK i shopped around and here are my findings all with delivery included:

    Overclockers Rig:
    1090T CPU
    Formula IV Mobo
    F3 1TB
    G.Skill RipJaw 4GB 2x2GB
    Total = £537.49

    Scan Rig:
    1090T CPU
    Formula IV Mobo
    F3 1TB
    Corsair XMS 4GB 2x2GB (Can't find the G.Skill on there.)
    Total = £509.81

    Ebuyer Rig:
    1090T CPU
    Formula IV Mobo
    F3 1TB
    G.Skill RipJaw 4GB 2x2GB (The Blue ones with tighter timings which are actually cheaper than the red ones for some reason...)
    Total = £541.88


    So are the XMS better seeing as they made by Corsair? If so it's Scan Rig.
     
  21. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    PSU calculators do not mean shit. Excuse my French.

    There are too many variables to consider. i.e. there is no exact way to identify the exact amount of power your video card or CPU is drawing down to a tea because its a variable that depending on the tasks. For example the peak usage of a video card will be for those 1-2 hours when you are playing a intensive game but for the most part your video card will be idle or in low power consumption mode for the other 22hrs of the day. 500W is fine, admittedly I may consider replacing the PSU only if you were to get a GTX460 as they are known for its high power consumption limits, again your current PSU would be fine with it too though.

    Edit:

    Average and maximum power consumption:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2010
    hooj says thanks.
  22. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Thanks for the info Dent!:toast:

    I was wondering about all of that, i just needed it confirmed.
     
  23. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    I would also like to mention that i have a copy of vista Home Premium 32-bit unused in the packaging(slim cardboard packaging.) So should i use that and hold out on the 64-bit OS seeing as i am only buying 4GB however i will be adding after Christmas. Or is Windows 7 64-bit the way to go right now for my apps?
     
  24. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
  25. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    You'd need a 64-bit operating system whether its Vista or Windows 7 if you want more than 4GBs of ram. For Maya, Modeling/Animation and Rendering, Games Development, Photoshop, Dreamweaver, and Video Editing I would advise that you buy atleast 8 GBs of ram straight off the bat.

    Maybe sell your copy of your 32-bit OS on Ebay as new, if its in its original box and hasnt been used.

    If you are getting the GTX460 or 5850 I would get that PSU that kurosagi01 linked or equivalent.
     
    hooj says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page