1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which XFX HD6870 BIOS?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by neo668, May 23, 2012.

  1. neo668 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everyone. This is my first post here.

    Just bought my son (and me) his first somewhat serious dedicated graphic card to play Diablo. The card I got is a XFX Radeon HD-685X-ZDFC (1GB). I was reading that this could be upgraded to a HD6870 by flashing with the appropriate BIOS.

    I was able to find the BIOS archive and realized there are many different XFX HD6870 BIOS. I'm now puzzled. Please advise me which is the most appropriate BIOS to use for my card. Thank you.
  2. Tacoboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Me too

    I'm trying to update my bios from 6850 to 6870.
    I'm guessing picking the bios is up to how much someone is willing to risk?
  3. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,698 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    446
    Location:
    East TN
    A stock 6870 will run Diablo perfect... If there's any fixes via bios, best place to look is the XFX website. IMO leave the bios alone and play the game :D

    Why would you want to do such a thing?
    Law-II says thanks.
  4. neo668 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks guys.

    I'm guessing any one would do, but I'm not sure.

    I know that the HD6850 will play Diablo perfectly but I like to mess around with things and try to OC anything, if possible (and have had quite a few regrets in the past - LOL).
  5. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,377 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    It's the 6950 that can be flashed to a 6970. The 6800 series of cards cannot do this.
  6. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    342 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    No, you can't turn a HD 6850 into a HD 6870 by flashing the bios, because there's nothing to unlock, especially when both cards make use of a different pcb. So don't even try it, otherwise you will end up with a dead videocard.

    Anyway, a HD 6850 is plenty fast to run Diablo 3, and you can always overclock the HD 6850.

    Here's a gpu scaling test by Techspot (1920x1200 high settings): http://www.techspot.com/review/532-diablo-3-performance/page3.html
  7. Tacoboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did AMD remove the overclocking feature from their software drivers?
    Can not seem to get AMD overcocking to enable.
  8. neo668 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  9. WalkupManuel New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm guessing any one would do
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page