1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Who has a AMD board that will work with 2GB 2-3-2-6

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by dantheman1425, Feb 27, 2006.

  1. dantheman1425 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    I have a ASUS A7N8X rev2 bios 1010 mobo that won't work with the stock timings of my Mushkin 991434 400Mhz (1GB x 2) 2-3-2 memory. I have to use 2.5-3-2 in order to get windows xp sp2 to run. Let me know if you have a board that can handle it so my $259 doesn't go to waste. Thanks guys.

    Daniel
     
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    i think its the cpu and its dual channel on chip memory controler thats very fussy.. not so much the mobo.. and of course 1 gig sticks as opposed to 512 jobbies..

    i just slowed mine down from 2.5 to 3 cos i suspect a weird problem i have been having is down to the memory tripping over its own feet every so often with things that use lots of it..

    mind u i didnt pay out the big money for superfast stuff like u have.. performance wise it dosnt make much difference but if u have paid for it u want it..

    trog
     
  3. dantheman1425 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    memory timings

    I got it to work, I moved the dimm to another slot. It still says dual, but I don't care about the theoretical 128bit, I just wanted my 2-3-2-6. :rockout:
     
  4. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    rule number 1: if memory doesnt work as it should in the designated dual channel slots, swap the modules position ;)
     
  5. Zebbo Mushkin Tech Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    133 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    End of the Redline
    dantheman1425, if you happen to face anymore issues you can post them to "Mushkin Tech Support" thread. It's easier to note if someone is having a issue :)
     
  6. hexadecimal New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    35 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have to have my FSB down to 166 to get this thing to boot too

    A7N8X Deluxe
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page