1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Who makes the chips in my RAM?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by p_o_s_pc, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    if you google the model number with Ic's after it ...I got a bunch of foreign sites that all say they are based on micron IC's....hope that helps
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  3. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Look at them under the heatspreader.

    My bet is Elpida.
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i am not taking off the heatspreader
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i saw a chart someplace about a month ago and i think it was d9s if that is true that would b y i get a high oc
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    well goto newegg and look at the reviews ...they also state they are micron D9's
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    sorry to hijack your thread but i cant find anything about my ram either, its supertalent rated at 800 5.5.5.15 @ 1.8v but can run at 1000 2.1v with default timings, im sure ive read somewhere that there also d9's but cant find anything on google, anyone shed some light ?
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    how bout a part number or link to your RAM?
  9. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    <DOH> would help wouldnt it , part no. is T800UX2GC5 supertalent 2gb ddr800
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i can't find anything on your RAM sorry. Do you have heatspreaders on your ram?If not turn the computer off and unplug it and pull that ram out and take a look
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
  12. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  13. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I can personaly vouche that these (GeIL) are indeed Micron D9 chips. I've owned two sets of them, one 1GB DC Kit and one 2GB DC Kit. They both feature the "Racing Orange" colored heatspreaders and I went ahead and had a look under one of them in the 1GB kit and they were indeed Micron D9 series chips.

    BTW, newegg usualy has great deals on these GeIL DDR2 kits which makes them an incredible bang for the buck compared to other high performance DDR2 800 kits.
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    Thank you for confirming the my google still works...lol:toast:
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    does anyone know were i can find the Geil ultra plus cas 3 ram?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    rick22 has some Geil ultra hes lookin to sell altho Im not sure of its settings.....PM him and see what it is!?!
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I want the Ultra PLUS that has a CAS of 3 and not cas 4 like the ultra does. My ram gets not that much less bandwidth than my L2 using Memtest 86 and i am just using the CAS 4 overclocked. I will PM him to see the specs of it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    im assuming now with your last comment you arent looking for DDR but DDR2?
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    yes DDR2... I have a family member that is using DDR so maybe he will want more ram
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    so i have D9s or some kind of micron?
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page