1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why a high-quality PSU is an essential purchase

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by oli_ramsay, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    kenkickr says thanks.
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    The music goes with it!! That was kinda hilarious!! Wonder if they were Bestec's.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Cooler Master LOL

    They were so subtle about it too
     
  4. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    lol, its only one model though, glad my psu looks nothing like that one,
     
  5. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Glad I dumped my Coolit 650W in favour of a Corsair after watching that :)
     
  6. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    Oi, yall gonna have some workers' comp cases on your hands if you keep that up :roll:
     
  7. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
  8. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    HX1000 from corsair here...no complaints.
     
  9. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    epic :D
    corsair 620HX in server and a Cooltek/MIST in gaming rig here ;)
     
  10. Jansku07 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    171 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    [​IMG]
    Fair game FTW? :laugh:
     
  11. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    Funny as hell :roll:
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I saw that and I started laughing so hard. Damn cooler master and there crappy psu's!
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    my media PC has a cooler master, its called a "thermal master" its an utter piece of crap. Then again, the PC uses <100W at load, so i feel slightly safe.

    *waits for video to buffer*

    edit: now that is hilarious. lol.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2008
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It loaded all of it instantly for me.. Maybe cause my dad is at work, freakin bandwidth hog :p
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    australia, 2am, torrenting. :p
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    ahh ok. Makes sense :)
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    brilliant video however. i've always been a 'get a good PSU' fanatic (although christine bags out my PSU, i think its a winner) so i'm all for people advertising that these PSU's are crap.

    The reason they died:

    1. generic units often state the PEAK load.
    450W peak probably was around 320-350W sustained (this is often on the label) they used 375W which seems 'low' in comparison to the 450W figure, but probably overloaded the system.

    2. where was the load? the video showed every lead except the main 20/24 pin, so all 375W was off the one connector? thats an unlikely scenario in real world usage, if they had all that wattage on the 12V line of course it would blow - the 450W rating includes 3.3V, 5V and 12V

    that said... a good PSU would shut off rather than explode. i'm just saying these tests were rigged in a way that would definately blow those PSU's.
     
  18. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    it's not a cooler master, looks nothing like it. it's a raidmax there cases come with a similar 450 watt white model with black fans (external).

    - Christine
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2008
  19. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    296
    I believe you may be on to something, it appears that only ATX20/24 is connected to the "load".

    I would like to see a Corsair tested in the exact same way.
     
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    good eye. I would have never seen that if you didn't say that
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    w1z should do it hahaha
     
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    could be yes. but I was refering to the raidmax power supplies they put in there cases like the Sagitta which looks like the same 450 watt model but has 14 amps on the 12 volt rail the one you listed has 21.

    - Christine
     
  24. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    yeah i was wondering too why none of the cables appear to be attached to anything.
    The unit has multiple rails and each rail is only capable of a portion of the 450W max rating... putting 375W thriough one is obviously going to overload it.
     
  25. iamajunky

    iamajunky

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    California USA
    heh funny video i only use ocz or corsair
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page