1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why and when should you flash gpu BIOS

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by CAPSLOCKSTUCK, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    48 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wales
    Under what circumstances should you flash gpu BIOS.?
    What does flashing achieve?
    Should we all be flashing reguarly?


    Sorry i only have the questions and none of the answers.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,662 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,055
    1. If the manufacturer says so. If you are going for ballz out overclocking and you need a bios that has no limits. If there is an inherent flaw with the original bios.

    2. Particular things such as above.

    3. No, there is no reason to. It's a silly practice.
     
    Zubasa, GreiverBlade, Aquinus and 4 others say thanks.
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,836 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,532
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I don't recommend people flashing GPU BIOSes (or any BIOSes for that matter) unless they are encountering a certain hardware issue that is KNOWN to be corrected by a new BIOS revision, and they must know how to do it properly as well as revert from a bad flash. Usually people end up doing it despite this and then they fill TPU with crap threads about how they screwed over their card because they weren't thinking and didn't back up the original BIOS.
     
    Zubasa, d1nky, INSTG8R and 1 other person say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    :respect: If only they would use the 'SEARCH' button :wtf: FRIST;)
     
    GreiverBlade, Law-II and CAPSLOCKSTUCK say thanks.
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,442 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    unless your buying EVGA mobos :p BIOS updating is a must
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,302 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,526
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Over at Overclock.net there are many people flashing the BIOS on their Titan cards. I've flashed mine but flashed it back again. The Titan is artificially restricted to a lower power consumption, it means it would go faster with a little more juice but Nvidia have been very conservative.
    For regular gaming though flashing should only be done to correct faults and usually at the vendors recommendation.
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK says thanks.
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,575 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,924
    I'd say never do it unless you really know that your card has a problem which can only be solved through flashing.
    I had that issue with my 5970. It used to go grey-screen while in 2D mode when it under-clocked. Found on more than one source that bios flashing to a more recent bios which had been developed specifically to solve that problem would solve it (I had bought mine very early on release) so I flashed both gpu's bios and it worked fine since then.

    Otherwise, I'd say if it ain't broke don't try to fix it ;)
     
    xvi and CAPSLOCKSTUCK say thanks.
  8. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,962 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,385
    I bet I'm not the only one who first flashed a VGA bios when the 6950->6970 bios trick came out. Admittedly I was nervous about it, but cards having dual bioses really takes away some of the anxiety and uncertainty.

    And always save your original bios before any flashing. ;)
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,969 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,003
    Location:
    Oregon
    When the warranty covers it
     
    GreiverBlade and CAPSLOCKSTUCK say thanks.
  10. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    1. There are no circumstances where you SHOULD flash gpu bios and manufacturers don't normally recommend flashing. It's very rare that there's a critical bios update for gpus. You should contact customer service first before proceeding. It could void warranties.
    You can flash for OC/unlock benefits at your own risk

    2. OC benefits or unlocking.

    3. No, do not flash regularly. BIOS are not released regularly like drivers. Update your drivers in windows, that is something you want to do on a regular basis.
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK says thanks.
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,066
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Except for right now. We are in a weird transition period with UEFI BIOSes, and many VGAs require BIOS updates in order to be fully compliant with UEFI and Windows8.

    Also, Gigabyte has BIOSes on their product pages for many of their current VGAs, precisely because of this UEFI issue, as well as to offer "free" upgrades to older cards to newer "boost" clocks(AMD 7-series GPUS).

    As a user, I have contacted three different VGA manufacturers in recent weeks over various issues, and each and every time, BOS flashing to the GPU was the first step taken after ensuring that the system was stable.


    Otherwise, I agree, most users don't need to flash BIOSes. As an enthusiast, I'll ALWAYS try different BIOSes for my VGAs, but I know the risks involved, and I know how and have the hardware to recover from a bad flash.
     
    Frogger and CAPSLOCKSTUCK say thanks.
  12. CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    48 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wales
    Im glad i asked the questions and appreciate the concise nature and quality of the answers.

    I think the moral is, If it aint broke dont fix it.
     
    GreiverBlade, Frogger and Law-II say thanks.
  13. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    I have a question, can a bios become corrupted through constant crashes?
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,662 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,055
    Yes, but most likely there's another problem if there's "constant crashes".
     
  15. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    +1 to everything here, especially the last part.

    No. The BIOS is pretty much read-only unless you're flashing it. A bit like a CD or DVD.
    Edit: Erocker says yes. Erocker is probably right.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    when overclocking and driver crashes (my own fault pushing too far for benches) then it hangs/restarts and the clocks are stuck on previous clocks. then needs bios switched over and driver sweep to fix problem, usually loops like that.

    but im talking near death overclocks 1250/1800.... I had to beat some guy on 3dmark 2013
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,662 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,055
    Nah, it's a very slim chance. Instability can cause all kinds of weird issues.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  18. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    im certain its bios as normal clocks are fine, same scores on benches. but soon as it starts getting on this weird crash/clock loop it sticks and any oc crashes. but soon as I switch to the other bios, and driver sweep its fine, till im stupid again
     
  19. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Well, that's always true. I suppose it's just that it "shouldn't" write to the BIOS, but there's always that chance.

    Something along the lines of unstable memory corrupts the address of a write request to the GPU BIOS, I would imagine? I'll admit I don't know as much as I'd like on this subject.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,662 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,055
    Me neither! :D
     
  21. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    makes me laugh how many people probably sign up to this forum (and others) saying ive flashed my gpu and its gone wrong.
     
  22. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    657
    LOL, I feel the same way about people delidding their Ivybridge CPUs... :slap: :D
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,604 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Never. If you have to ask you probably should not do it.
     
  24. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    There are instances where flashing is required.
    If the GPU manufacturer states you should.

    Or in my situation:-
    I have flashed the BIOS of one of my old cards after installing an Acrtic Twin Turbo on it.
    Turns out the fans would not spin without Rivatuner due to weak original fan profile.
    I did not want to rely on software for fans to work.
    So I had to edit the BIOS to have a more aggressive fan profile to make sure the fans kicked in on the new cooler.

    Most of these people don't even have the idea to back up their original BIOS.

    Never assume everything is going to go ahead smoothly is the number one rule to assume.
     
  25. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    there were also the good old days when you could flash your card to unlock moar shaders.

    i really don't get all the fuss about delidding, i did it on an athlon64 3000+ couple of years ago using nothing but a scalpel blade and vice to press the blade through the glue ffs. these new sockets need a shim, boo hoo.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page