1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

why are opteron x2's more expensive than athlon x2's?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TylerZambori, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. TylerZambori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    130 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi all,

    Sorry for the newbie question.

    I originally checked prices on the opteron x2's. then
    saw that the core 2 duo's are cheaper. Then later
    I realized that the athlon x2's are cheapest of all.

    So why are the opteron x2's more expensive than
    the athlon x2's?

    Thanks!
     
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Larger Cache and good overclocking reputation. The X2 3600 Brisbane is THE best value right now though. Pick one up for $65 and it will go to 2.75-3.1GHZ guaranteed.
     
  3. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    also i think they can handle more heat there tougher because there designed for servers
     
  4. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    the operterons are more expensive because they are binned to run more stable than regular athlon x2s under harsher conditions

    this usually translates into better overclocking potential, which is what makes them appealing to the overclocking crowd

    the athlon x2s are the cheapest, but they are also the weakest right now

    the 3600+ is a great buy, but in the end is still a $65 cpu, the money is much better spent with an e4300

    the e4300 is, imo, the best value on the market right now for an overclocker
     
  5. TylerZambori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    130 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    well, er, I don't want to overclock, so I'm thinking of going for
    the athlon 64 x2 6600+ 3.0 ghz cpu, plus the Asus M2R32-MVP
    motherboard.

    Thanks guys.
     
  6. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    You mean the 6000+ i asume.:D
     
  7. TylerZambori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    130 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  8. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Get the 5400. Almost the same but cheaper.;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page