1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why are SimCitys cities so small? Because EA didn't make it for multicore CPU's

Discussion in 'Games' started by 1ceTr0n, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    201 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
  2. JNUKZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    185 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portugal
    Another CitiesXL.
    I'm disappointed... thought I could play SimCity again.
  3. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    917 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    anyone has a big city? it's lagging?

    Anyway, 2013 no multi-core, it's like 2013 on a single core CPU Pentium 4 xD
    hellrazor says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,804 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,921
    Wow, thats F'd up.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    what do you expect from the worst run game corp?? this will just fuel the rise of the indie dev on linux!
    xvi, Vinska, digibucc and 1 other person say thanks.
  6. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    lulz EA.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    How disappointing. Unless they do something about this, no buy for me.

    I was really looking forward to this game too. :ohwell:
  8. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    201 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203

    The beta demo was enjoyable but if your a Simcity veteran like me, it felt like trying to have a sex with hot girl you used do bang and do whatever you want with, but now you can only fap yourself while watching her in a glass box.
    silkstone, THE_EGG, Millennium and 2 others say thanks.
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yep, me too. EA sucks.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Hopefully some of the EA brass will catch wind of the disappointment and crack the whip on the devs. lol.
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    not happening. this smells too much of marketing and corporate gimmickry. get used to it folks. EA hates your childhood.
    Kwod and hellrazor say thanks.
  12. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    201 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203

    There's a better chance that Paris Hilton will become a nun and Lindsey Lohan will become sober then that.
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,415 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    They said it uses at least two cores heavily (game+sim, render). That's reasonable. I'm not complaining until it actually becomes a problem for me. :p
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Finland
    So we heard of this new thing called multithreading. So we put everything heavy running in one thread and put audio and 3D rendering control to another. Yep, that is how we roll and there is nothing you can do about it.
    hellrazor says thanks.
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not while EA is laughing all the way to the bank.
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,415 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Games are not something that can be easily multithreaded. They always require synchronized multithreading and even that can do more harm than good (always as fast as the slowest thread). I think, like most games, it will be limited moreso by the GPUs ability to render all the polygons quickly than the CPU doing the simulating.

    I'm pretty sure SimCity 4 and SimCity Societies only ran on one heavy thread and the performance was fine even on large cities.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Finland
    While I agree it is not easy. But since EA's subordinate DICE already proved with bf3 you can do it properly I can only wonder what is up going back to 1990s. Goddamn it is schewing nicely on all my six cores.
    hellrazor says thanks.
  18. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    You will have to port the entire game engine to mulithread, something I think the devs chose not to. DICE started from scratch, that's your difference.
    remixedcat says thanks.
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,415 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    DICE's engine is worthless for a game like SimCity. It is unclear what engine SimCity is using.

    I already pointed out that it is going to be heavy on at least two cores. Also bear in mind this was reported/discovered on Twitter which is constrainted to 140 characters.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    honestly, i don't think it will make any difference. like most simcity games, players will use cheat codes to give themselves millions of dollars, build massive cities, and then destroy them with alien attacks and earthquakes.
    MT Alex says thanks.
  21. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    201 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203

    Glass Box and thusly thanks to EA, its limited

    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  22. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    201 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Well see, with EA now requiring always on connections for "DRM" reasons as well as Cloud computing to handle the "data" load, your basically limited to what you can and can't do per EA's whim. Essentially, they can prevent you now from using cheat codes and trying to build massive citys because they designed the game to be controled and monitored on their end for the "benefit" of the customer"

    See the piss and vinegar about this whole thing now?
    hellrazor says thanks.
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,923 (7.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,502
    :laugh::roll:

    That's all I ever did lol
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,415 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    All that's really been said about GlassBox is what you posted--it works on agents rather than statistical simulations. All that tells me is the "game+sim" thread is heavy unlike most games. It doesn't say how it runs.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    201 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203

    Because EA doesn't tell a shit nowadays, so all we have to go by is the scraps of tidbits of info that they do give us.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page