1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why can my Android Tablet have and active desk top yet my I7 with window 7 can't?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by kciaccio, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    My android tablet has a nice aquarium background like a screen saver for the desktop back ground yet my much more powerful desktop cannot? WTF?
     
  2. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,937 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    first of all, turn that off. it's horrible for battery and heat.

    secondly, it's existed for a long time. it's just not a default windows option.
    google is your friend
     
  3. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,672 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    ?

    Perhaps a slight bit more, or any, research might have led you to a different conclusion. Within the first 10 Google results for "animated desktop in windows 7" you'll find:
    http://www.instructables.com/id/Windows-7-Customizing-Animated-Desktop/



    I even had an animated desktop in xp for a time.


    So yes, you can have the same thing. No, windows doesn't come preloaded with it. Unsurprisingly, windows doesn't come preloaded with as animated desktop. The funds for developing that are channeled into other, more OS relevant, tasks.
     
    kciaccio says thanks.
  4. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Thanks! I got it to work this time!
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2012
  5. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
  6. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    miranda kerr animates my desktop, if you know what I mean
     
  7. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    I recall active desktop being supported since IE5.0 at least, that allows for animated desktops.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,215
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I will try this out when I get home. I loved dreamscene for vista but damn you had to get the ultimate edition and then it was not put in windows 7 for some reason.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page