1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why can't I ping this modem? [solved]

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Black Panther, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    I know it's working and that I have the correct IP address because I'm viewing cctv over the net through it.

    But when I ping the IP it says request timed out.

    :confused:
     
  2. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Could you ping it before? Are you talking your local dsl modem?

    Also, firewall, disabled icmp?

    more info please :)
     
  3. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    472 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Perhaps the modem is configured not to respond to pings.
     
  4. xytras New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    26 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Do you see it via arp -a ???
     
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah ICMP ("ping") can be disabled/blocked. Another security-though-obscurity method.
     
  6. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    No. I remember not being able to ping it ever.
    It's a cable modem/router in one, not the one I use at home but in another place (account's in my name).
    I never changed any settings, it's all on default settings.

    Might be.
    What's the exact command I should use?
    :eek:

    Makes sense. So it was like that by default? I never tried to block it.
     
  7. xytras New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    26 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    arp -a
     
  8. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah by default most likely.
     
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    This modem isn't the one I'm currently using right now.
    It's at another place 30km away.
     
  10. xytras New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    26 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    This will should show all connected devices on the network segment "aka switch/router". You would run this command on a windows box that is connected to the same switch as the CCTV device.
     
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    Is it possible to unblock?

    I need to have this modem ping-able because I need to periodically check the cctv there.

    Or is there any other way I could check whether the modem is online or not?
     
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,354 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,119
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The modem usually doesn't block anything, it's the router that the modem is connected to. For example, this is the option to enable/disable ICMP pass-thru on my Cisco/Linksys E4200.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Since it is a cable modem/router- Aquinus is right, the router part is what is blocking it.
    You usually get in the configuration and change it- As he said it will be under security or Mabey if it has a firewall tab, or sometimes even under a WAN tab.-

    But unfortunately you will probably have to be onsite to do it. open up a browser and then put in the LAN ip address of the modem/router and see if you can get it. If it is all default then it should have some generic username/password combo or mabey none at all depending on the model-
     
  14. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    Things are starting to make sense now.

    But I can't find a similar "Filter Anonymous Internet Requests" in my modem's security settings...

    It's a Cisco EPC2425 Voice Gateway btw..

    [​IMG]
     
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,390 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    764
    u don't got something called "Block WAN Request" or something like it?
     
  16. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Not in there, those are you wifi settings, but getting closer... is there any other tabs- ie... security, firewall, Wan settings?
    looking for ICMP/ping, or a firewall tab to allow icmp from the outside (Wan)?
     
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,354 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,119
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You're looking in the wrong spot.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • wan.JPG
      wan.JPG
      File size:
      120.6 KB
      Views:
      1,405
    Black Panther says thanks.
  18. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Black Panther says thanks.
  19. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    Thanks guys! Luv ya :)

    :lovetpu:
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page