1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why did AMD move from S939 to AM2?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by OzzmanFloyd120, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    The only reason I can think of is to add DDR2 support, but it seems like they would have moved for more than one reason. It would cost too much to just add one spec to a line of CPUs, wouldn't it?
     
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    I would say to add DDR2 and to get lower processes, better energy, better boards.
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I wonder why they moved to AM2+.. Oooh hypertransport 3, doesnt do much anyway. They need to get AM3 out and show Intel what they are made of.
     
  4. TheGoat Eater

    TheGoat Eater

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    775 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    128
    Location:
    West Des Moines,IA (USA)
    forced upgrades :D - as all do...
     
  5. Viscarious New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    951 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    HT3 wont do anything for them... They need a new processor design.

    It will come...
     
  7. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    i like my 5600+

    'tis a Crysis killer :D
     
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,528 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,017
    Because I bought a 939 and since I'm not allowed to have anything cutting edge they released the AM2.:shadedshu
     
  9. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Because they were making money during those years and thought they could force a few upgrades. Everyone does it -- AMD is no different. :laugh:
     
  10. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Here y'go...

    Original article 'ere.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page