1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why do I only get up to 8x AA in games?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ShadowFold, Dec 31, 2007.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I thought the HD series could do up to 24x. I dont know how to force AA tho.

    [​IMG]

    I have it at that and it looks like there is no AA in Oblivion, Crysis, Warcraft, Hellgate etc.

    I have a HD 3850 512mb.
     
  2. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    In crossfire they can, i think.
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  3. snuif09

    snuif09 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    hoorn, Netherlands
    ^in crossfire up to 24x and that isnt full screen
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ok so I cant do 16x even?
     
  5. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    o_O... do you really need 16x? 8x... and 4x already pose a negligable difference.
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    For WoW yes. I get 60fps with vsync and 8x AA and its still a little jaggy waaay in the distance. This displeases me :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page