1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why do people upgrade so frequently? When even lowend CPUs are fast enough for most?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MaxAwesome, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    Who cares about crysis anyway? And yes, I can max out crysis... Are you insane?
     
  2. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    I'm willing to bet that when games come out that fully take advantage of Quads, the current Core 2 Quad and Duos will be long dead and gone.
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    LOL

    You can not max out Crysis. NO WAY
     
    technicks says thanks.
  4. The Haunted

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    311 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    A multi gpu system really put powerful cpu's to use.
    Don't expect a big performance increase adding a second gtx285 if you have a Athlon x2....
     
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Crysis puts my system to it's knees and asked to be shot in the head.

    (before I blew it up lol)
     
  6. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    I was actually talking about Crysis Warhead. Maxed out pretty easily.

    but who cares about crysis? Crysis is a GPU killer, not a CPU killer. Even a "good" Pentium 4 can kick Crysis in the nuts.
     
  7. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Yeah and why did they release that? Because your system could not run it. LOL
     
  8. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    What are you talking about?
     
  9. The Haunted

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    311 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Everyone can max out crysis. The thing is to get a 40+ constant fps.
    I cannot play warhead maxed.
     
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    With AA on high res like 1920x1200 and up?

    Do you have your nvidia control panel(or ATi CCC) turned all the way up?
     
  11. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    You want to try and run it on a netbook? That would in fact melt a hole in the mobo the size of the intel IGP.
     
  12. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    Since resolution depends on the monitor, yes I can MAX IT on my 17" @ 1280x1024.

    But mentioning resolution as criteria to maxing a game out is useless. Maxing out, to me, is cranking up the details, not the resolution. Of course there's a limit, but I never played ANYTHING under my screen's native res.
     
  13. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I am talking about the fact they put Crysis Warhead out because a lot of people with similar specs like you had such a shitty game experience, So they put out a less cpu/gpu intensive game so more people would buy it.

    But on topic. I have the idea that you are just a bit jealous. Why would you ask something like this in the first place?

    It's kinda like when you just bought a 10 year old Honda Civic and then go bitch at your neighbor for having a 2008 Audi S5. Saying you don't understand why he needs a big engine and leather interior.:wtf:
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  14. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I'm sure that more people bought crysis BECAUSE of the high system requirements.
     
  15. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    The reason I've been upgrading so frequently LATELY is that I was broke and out of the computer scene for a while, so in 2007 I bought a single-core A64 3200+ and set it to 3800+ along with a 8600GT so I could play COD4 (actually the original goal was to be able to play TF2, but I only played it for abut 2 weeks). This year I bought an E7400, cheap mobo and RAM and finally a 9800GTX+ just because I never got decent frame rates in COD4. Once again this year (around fall, in time for MW2) I'll be upgrading to a Q~9550 and adding a second 9800GTX+ for SLI, I'll be getting my SLI board within the next couple of weeks.

    After the Q9550 I'm not sure if I'll be upgrading for the next couple of years, if I do I'll get an i7 next year and leave it at that for the next 5 years and concentrate on video, RAM, and storage upgrades, as well as increasingly better monitors.

    Now, why upgrade ANYTHING so much? Well, everyone's got their hobbies...
     
  16. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    Yeah, but I don't really give a shit about my 8800GT. It's a great card, mind you, but EVERYONE KNOWS that crysis can melt ANY GPU.

    I hope you are not seriously trying to tell me that an E8400 is not enough for crysis.
     
  17. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Actually Crysis Warhead was put out because Crysis itself was a lame gaming experience even with good performance. The fact that they cleaned up the awful programming on the Crysis engine which gave it the crappy performance, I think that was just a coincidence.
     
  18. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,513 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i only replaced my rig 4 times in 12 years and all but one was due to failures.

    lost a power supply in a 3yr old dell p4 1ghz rig with 512mb ram and 15" crt monitor so i bought a $20 PSU and sold the rig for $200

    spent $500 to build a p4 2.8ghz rig with 1gb ram and 17" crt monitor but after 2 1/2 years the mobo failed so i put my cpu and ram in my dads 6yr old dell to upgrade it and his old parts p4 2.0ghz cpu and 512mb ram) i put in my computer with a cheap generic mobo i bought for $50 and sold the rig for $350

    spent $700 to build a p4 3.4ghz rig with 2gb ram and a GS7600 GPU and med high end PSU with 17" samsung lcd monitor. i kept it for 2 yrs and sold it for $550 because i wanted to build a quad core rig with nice grafics card and bigger monitor for playing games.

    for $900 i built a nice q6600 rig with high end mobo and 2gb high end ram with an 8800GT GPU and high end PSU and high quality 22" samsung lcd monitor. its a little over 4yrs old but with all high quality parts i only see a ram upgrade to 4gb might be all i need one day.
     
  19. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Cause I have a problem :roll: I would get soo bored with my computer if I wasnt upgrading something. I dont care about the money I just buy dumb stuff for my big toy :)
     
  20. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    You gain experience as well through upgrading. You can gain more knowledge about certain pieces of new hardware. I upgrade and change my system a lot so that when I build systems for others, it can be truly specific to their needs through my experience with the hardware =). I don't mind paying money for knowledge and experience.. college comes to mind.
     
    crtecha says thanks.
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,628 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,588
    GTA:IV, even without the patches ran just fine on my X2 4400+, I still use my X2 for gaming, and there is nothing wrong with it. However, I'm generally not happy with medium settings, and that is what I have to run on my X2. GTA:IV required medium settings to run smoothly on my X2. Yes, the game still looks good, better than the console versions, and it still very fun to play, but the game is a hell of a lot better on my Quad-Core than any of my dual-core systems.

    The low end requirements of games, are just that, low-end. We are not happy playing games on low, we aren't even happy playing on medium. Which is why we upgrade. I don't believe a daul-core, even a high end one like the E8400, will not be enough to give anything more than medium settings in a years time. Especially with the increased demand for games with more physics in them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  22. MaxAwesome

    MaxAwesome

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    368 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Over There
    OK, this thread seemingly lost it's initially intended purpose.

    People seem to think I don't upgrade, after I build a computer. I do upgrade! BUT, this thread was meant to focus ONLY on CPU upgrading.

    For example, I intend to keep THIS E8400 for 2 more years, but meanwhile, I will keep upgrading GPU, RAM or HD as necessary. My case is completely modded with cooling and other stuff. I do like hardware, like most of you.

    I was just trying to say that people sometimes swap CPUs when they already have a powerhouse in their hands.

    And get this: Obvisouly my E8400 won't be the king of speed in 2011, when I expect to move over to sandy brigde (or smth fresh from AMD), but I know that while not being the fastest thing around, it will still keep me playing. In 2011, the E8400 will be 3 years-old, not new, but not jurassic either.

    But paired with regular GPU upgrades, my current CPU will CERTAINLY keep me gaming until it's time to move on.


    Because, not matter how you look at it, games will keep GPU-bound for their performance needs. CPUs will definitely play a crucial role, but if you have a nice CPU with a shit card, forget about gaming.
     
  23. iandh Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    195 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Because I'm an inexcusable hardware whore


    Going by logic only, I should still be using my X2 3600+, 4000+, 4600+, 6400+, E2180, E4300, E4500, E7200, E8400, Q6600, Phenom X3 8450, Phenom X4 9950, Q9550, Phenom II 940BE, or Phenom II 920. Yes, I have owned all of these. Some of them I still own.

    At the moment I have my 720BE in my main rig.
     
  24. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    my 4600+ was totally fine for me. I got a 9950be cause well its better and its a quad. thats my reason for a cpu upgrade. Well its always my reason for any upgrade.
     
  25. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Settle down buddy. I know it seems like I got off track with my reply but it really wasn't that off track. I had to explain things a little to explain why I upgraded CPUs so much along with the other stuff.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page