1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does my computer seem slow?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by quasar923, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. quasar923 Guest

    My PC has never really seem to run at its full potential, i may be wrong but i just want to make sure. Im questioning my Winxp64, does a 64bit OS that isnt using 4 or more gigs of ram tend to slow down a PC compared to a 32bit system? Im comparing my system to my friends PC which we built last Christmas. here is his setup:
    e6750 OCed to 3.4 with aftermarket HS/F
    2 gigs crucial balistix PC8000
    Powercolor HD3870
    Asus P5E X38
    WD caviar SE 250 gig sata
    700 watt psu

    My system is listed in my specs.

    My start up time seems longer than his, pausing in and out of games to the desktop is defiantly slower, he would have instant response from COD4 but when i do it from COD4 it takes about 5 seconds and waits on a black screen then goes to my desktop. his 3dmark 06 score was 12300, mine was 13000 with the 8.8 beta drivers but it has dropped 2000 points by switching to the 8.8 final release drivers. But my computer seemed to be slower than his even before i made the change in drivers and had the 13000 3dmark06 score.
     
  2. aharvey

    aharvey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    113 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    do you run a lot of applications in your background? AntiVirus stuff will kill performance.
     
  3. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Anti virus can cause slowdowns and maybe a defrag on the HDD will help.
     
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Also check your memory timings to see if there set correctly.
     
  5. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Other people get better fps with 8.8. Issues like this can be random if it`s frustrating. Tried a tweak program to speed up responsiveness ?
     
  6. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I don't notice any performance difference in the change of graphics drivers lol.
     
  7. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Yes try different Antivir and Defragment your HDD.
    I had interesting problem in WinXP I had process running in the background svchost.exe that was using 50% od CPU at all times when I closed that process via task manager than I lose sound. To regain sound I would go and activate Windows Audio service. Start up Task Manager and see if there is some process that is using you CPU or some of your memory.
     
  8. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I found 64Bit much slower than 32Bit for me, and don't worry about 3Dmark06...My 4850 scores nearly the same as my old 2900XT.
     
  9. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I got from winXP 32 bit to Vista 64bit and I like it. It is far from perfect . Doesn`t run 20% of the software that I used on XP. Other 80% it runs perfect. It is more responsive. In WinXP on clean install and drivers it is fast as light but when I install 50 programs it lose responsivnes. In Vista clean or full loaded same responsivnes. And I lost all my save games on Vista (when I started supporting Vista).
     
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,906 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    If i remember right i get near 13k in 3DMark all though my card is overclocked. But yeah 3D Mark is not the real thing. Never found XP x64 slower though.


    like others are saying maybe you got a lot of stuff running in the background. As you only THINK it's slower i think if it bothering much to do more tests with your friend and make sure you both are using the same settings in game and in CCC.
     
  11. quasar923 Guest

    i am not running 43 proccess in task manager and as im writing this the cpu usage goes from 0- 5%, commit charge is 778M/3963M altho i have no clue what that means.

    Proccesses using the most mem usage are:

    firefox.exe *32 86k
    svchost.exe 42k
    aim6.exe 39k
    RTHDCPL.exe *32 25k
    explorer.exe 22k
    SixEngine.exe *32 21k
    ashServ.exe *32 18k
    ashWebSv.exe *32 14k
    SmartDoctor.exe *32 15k
    CCC.exe 14k
    searchindexer.exe 13k
    svchost.exe 10k

    then the rest is less than 9k


    there are 7 processes of svchost.exe all using more than 3k and the most using 42k


    my anti virus is Avast home edition, is there another virus software that is free that uses less resources?

    I will run a defrag
     
  12. quasar923 Guest

    my memory is set at 4-4-4-12 @1033 2.2v in bios. stock settings are 5-5-5-18 1200 voltage 2.1-2.3
     
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    you've got too much shit running at startup, for example AIM. look in the preferences and find th option for that. Also take a quick run through start>run>msconfig>startup and see what you can get rid of
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. quasar923 Guest

    I do not have aim start with windows start up. What i posted was after running the comp and using it for a few hours. I start aim after windows starts, and i did have it start with windows when i had 32bit and i did it a few times with 64 bit and it seemed much slower with 64 bit.
     
  15. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    :laugh:
     
  16. quasar923 Guest

    can some one compile a list of all things i can uncheck in msconfig, i dont wanna uncheck anything that is needed to run the comp. i unchecked a few things already but dont wanna make any mistakes. thanks. also is it ok to start in diagnostics verses normal start in msconfig, because wont that be much faster?
     
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't even know what all you have in your msconfig.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. quasar923 Guest

    i will list it all for you then
     
  19. quasar923 Guest

    how do i post images that are 4.2mb on paint here?
     
  20. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Yea, 3Dmark the same...everything else is nearly twice as fast:)

    Both 64Bit and 32Bit were on clean installs, was slow from the start. It was very unresponsive, everything seemed very very sluggish. I read it had something to do with my SATA controller or something, idk.
     
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    don't save it as a bmp, save it as a jpg.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. quasar923 Guest

    pics of start up processes in MSconfig in attachments.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,906 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    i see your running aVast, so try disabling Standerd Shield as that will scan files like crazy.
     
  24. quasar923 Guest

    how do i do that?
     
  25. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,863 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    I was a previous user of win xp x64 although I never found it slow for me.. It ran perfectly, just tweak/optimize the services/applications that you don't use and then try a HDD defrag.. And see how well the system improves...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page