1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does my FX-6300 is not keeping itself at 3.5ghz?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by bL1nd3R, May 19, 2014.

  1. bL1nd3R

    bL1nd3R

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    66 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The title says it all :
    [​IMG]

    why ?
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,513 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Is that idle per chance? 0.92v is rather an odd figure.
    If your CPU is idle, it will downclock to a low voltage and frequency to save power.

    Try running Prime95 and check CPU-Z while Prime95 is actually running a test. Then it might perk up and run normally.
    Alternatively check your BIOS, ensure there aren't any ridiculous power saving features enabled.

    It may sound silly, but I have to ask, is your CPU 4/8pin power connector plugged in on the MoBo?
  3. bL1nd3R

    bL1nd3R

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    66 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    While stress is on with Prime95.
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,513 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    There you have it, your processor is operating normally. When your PC isn't doing anything, everything downclocks and undervolts to save power. When it starts doing things, it goes to stock clocks and starts chugging away.

    Problem solved. Not that it was a problem per se :laugh:
  5. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    No CPU runs exactly at the rated speed because the FSB goes up and by 1 or 2mhz at random

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page