1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does my performance DOUBLE on my dads HDTV?(1920x1080)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ShadowFold, Dec 28, 2007.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I mainly play games on a 19'' 1440x900 moniter and I get ok frames on all my games at high settings around 30-40fps on all. My dad is gonna be gone for a few days so I hooked my computer up to it and WOW not only do the games look ALOT better but they play alot better too!! I was getting 40FPS ON CRYSIS ALL HIGH WITH V/HIGH SHADERS. Same goes with all my games I got like 20+ more frames on it. Whats the deal with that :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    It the resolution actually 1920x1080? Is the TV 1080p or 1080i?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Its 1920x1080. Its a 56'' Samsung HDTV and the highest res it suports is 1920x1080 so thats what I used. Idk if its 1080i or p tho sorry.
     
  4. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Refresh rates most likely.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The one on my 19'' is max 75hz tho.
     
  6. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    hmm... odd i don't know??
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I just talked to my uncle(huge computer geek) and he said that at lower reses like 1440x900 it uses the cpu more than the gpu and at higher reses it stresses the gpu more. I guess that makes sense.. (I guess)..
     
  8. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Believe it or not, I noticed the same effect. My PC monitor is an 18.1" LCD that runs at 1280x1024. My TV is a 40" Sony XBR2 1920x1080p LCD. I get better framerates on my TV than I do on my PC monitor. Also the picture is 100x better.
     
  9. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    how weird...looks like I WILL buy that Hannspree 37"...or that Sony 32"....:p haha
    my Dell 2007WFP is looking less and less attractive as I see these HDTVs on which I'd be able to run both my PC and my 360 Elite (when I get it) through the HDMI ports..
     
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Yeah same here guys, I get more FPS on my downstairs HDTV on MAX REsolution then I do on my 17inch Monitor lol. I could not beleive it, I was like "NO WAY I CAN MAX THE GRAPHICS ON VERY HIGH!!!" I shit my pants on how good it was performing and at what detail. I guess its commen lol.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2007
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    1080i is interlaced, and it only has to draw half the pixels every frame?


    A max resolution is not always the native resolution. My projector max is 1080i but native is 720P
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Yeah my HDTV's is Native Resolution I think is 1080i, to bad it can't do 1080P, I suppose there is not to much of a difference Picture quality wise.
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The native on it is 1080 tho
     
  14. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    so we should buy tvs instead of monitors?
     
  15. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well not exactly, I think we can come to the conclustion that it is HIGH RESOLUTION TV's/Monitors performe better then low resolution ones, which is odd when you think about it, I guess it depends on the GPU as well. IONO im not an expert lol.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2007
  16. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I have found that my performance is better on my 24" samsung LCD (1920X1200) than on my old 19" HP lcd's (1440X900).
    Bit strange i guess but im not complaining ;)

    I run everything maxxed except AA and its beautifull :D
     
  17. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,504 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,352
    now i am just throwing this out there, but i remember tests from a few years ago that show ATI cards perform very well at very high resolutions. so much so that FPS actually increased as resolution increased. i am not sure if this is true for nvidia cards. perhaps someone has better information than i remember.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    HAHA great, I cant wait to try my tv, how good must it be to play css and even crysis! on something bigger than a a4 page :D
     
  19. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well I think this effect happens with the HD series cards??
     
  20. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Maybe it likes using the native HDMI interface on it, heheh.
    This does mean that if it is true, I shall move to my brother's house, and use his big-ass TV. It's got a native resolution of 1080p, and it's got three HDMI ports, so it won't upset his current setup at all
     
  21. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    im using DVI... not HDMI... and its working better still than the 19"
     
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea my card came with DVI to HDMI and my dad has a PS3 hooked up with a HDMI to HDMI cable so I used that
     
  23. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    This is a weird topic. So howcome in every game test / 3DMark scores higher resolution perform worse? Maybe the card just doesn't like 16:10 and prefers 16:9 instead? 1440x900 to 1920x1080 is a 62,5% raise in pixels, I'm tempted to try this on my LCD TV. It's only 720p put can take in 1080i, so even if it's drawing unused pixels it whould perform better =)

    edit: ShadowFold: it would be nice if you run the ingame performance test with that native resolution and then 1280x720, what happens to FPS then?
     
  24. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Well I did it myself, doesn't at least work on this ATI same :) 3dMark03 and the legendary Mother Nature.
    [​IMG] 1080P 82.1 fps
    [​IMG] 720P 111.3 fps
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2007
  25. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Like I said, I think this happens on the HD series alone (Maybe Because of the 512 Bit BUS).

    When I was useing my HD Tv, I was useig the RBG HD cable, the HD cables people would use before HDMI, some people still argue that it has better picture quality then HDMI, but IONO.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page