• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does running "search" cause explorer.exe to go berserk?

hawgowar

I open search in windows XP. I look for a file, click start. Then my computer begins to slow down to a crawl. I can basically do nothing else. Turning on task manager before running search shows explorer.exe consuming up to 400,000 k of "Mem Usage". Didn't use to do that. I have run every anti-virus and anti-spy and anti-trojan scan I can find, both my own and internet based scans such as Panda's.

I am not a programmer, just a common user, so I hesitate to tweak registries and such without step-by-step assistance. I use the computer mostly for internet, email and word processing. Not a gamer at all (unless you count spider solitaire). :laugh:

Any assistance from computer gods and godlings would be greatly appreciated. :respect:

Alec§taar

Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply