1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does "Scanning Process" appear is task manager and what is it?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by KBD, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I'd like to know what this item called scanning process is doing in windows task manager and what does it do? I have 2 instances of it running and each take a considerable amount of resourses (24,000K each), is this something i need or i can turn it off?
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I believe it is a process used by ZoneAlarm.
  3. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is that what the process is actually called? If it's not from your AV, run HijackThis!

    And then analyze it here.
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    yeah, usually is the background use of your antivirus, antiscript, antispy and anti adware programs running in the background. You can usually turn these off. They are basically there to scan for viruses, intrustions, etc. and in no way harms your computer. Some of them do take a bit of resources, 24k being some of the biggest, but it shouldnt hurt your pc's performance.
  5. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Yea, i am running ZoneAlarm Security Suite so i guess that could be it. I just tried turning off the antivirus and antispyware in the firewall but i'm still seeing those tasks. I also have Spyware Terminator and Windows Defender in Startup but i don't think that's them. Also, the Scanning Process thing is labeled SYSTEM, the stuff i added is labeled ADMINISTRATOR, so may be its not ZA?
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    try hijack this, but I doubt it is. There still is something running in the background to check. Even if you turn off ZA it still has a resident in memory scanning for any infections.
  7. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Guys, i just rebooted the PC and guess what, the Scanning Process is gone, looks like it was ZA AV and AS stuff. I guess i should reinstall AVG, that stuff doesnt eat up resorses like crazy.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page