1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

why does Vsync lock frame rate at 60?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Live OR Die, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,153 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    I didnt know that Vsync locked my frame rate at 60 untill i ran fraps, i like having it on because takes out the lines goin though the screen while moving fast :(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,288 (10.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,931
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Because 60 Hz is the refresh rate of your display.

    VSYNC is a method for avoiding frame-tearing caused due to the FPS being too high for your display to catch up (a sort of tearing noticed on the output). V-sync makes the GPU wait for the monitor to finish displaying each frame it generates. In essence caps the FPS at the monitor's refresh rate. With v-sync the highest FPS your GPU can churn out is the display's refresh rate, there's no minimum limit though. This results in a smoother display.
     
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Vsync synchronises the FPS with the Vertical refresh rate of your monitor (hence Vsync).
    It means that the monitor doesnt refresh at a different time to the Graphics card causing you to have effectively two or more frams on the screen at any one time, which is what gives the tearing effect. (or lines as you call it :p).

    i have noticed some games treat Vsync in different ways. it will often cap the FPS at your refresh rate (more often than not 60 - especially for LCD's), and allow any FPS below that.

    but some games, Cap at divisibles of 60. So as the graphics card is unable to make 60, it will drop something like this:

    60...45...30...20...15 etc.
     
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    I always use Vsync in games that garuntte 60+ FPS (like CSS, but not Crysis :D) becasue it stops those annoying horizontal lines in the centre of the screen.

    It also eases the load on the GPU.
     
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Crysis is really wierd. It wokrs crap if it starts up with Vsync enables. Always seems to cap my FPS at 20 or 15. but if I disable it and then re-enable it while in game, it works like it should, and doesnt affect my FPS at all, but gets rid of lines. :confused:

    Another tip, if you have the option of triple buffering while using Vsync, turn it on, as it helps keep the framerate at 60 (or as high as poss). (Turn it off for no vysnc though or it will waste gfx ram)
     
  6. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,853 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    703
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Also increase your refresh rate to 75 .Then your can get 75 fps with vsync on>
     
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Doesnt work on 99% of LCD screens.

    Usually only CRT's can go beyond a 60hz refresh rate.
     
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    i dunno but my old banger CRT is stuck at 60hz with 1280x1024 as its max resolution

    it can impact on performance but with older games its good to enable, games with tearing problems enable it but other games like crysis and bioshock id leave it off unless needed

    i use it i get a drop in frames if im not even reaching 60fps in the first place
     
  9. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,466 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    AZ
    resolution based, most lcd's will crap out at above 75 though. but mine will run 75 on 1440x900 and 1280x1024. it's just It looks better at 1650x1080.

    my old ViewsonicG810 would run 120hz at 1600x1200 and 75hz at 2048x1536, I really miss that screen, impossible to find one anymore. Huge and heavy but damn that thing was the best gaming screen I've ever seen.

    @ Live OR Die I'm curious as to what you mean by horizontal lines, I don't notice any on my screen. maybe and LG thing?
     
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Forgot it could increase refresh rate at lower res than native. :slap:

    but still, you wont see a difference between 60 and 100Hz on a LCD cus of the way it operates. (as long as the response time is upto scratch)

    60hz looks pretty bad on a CRT on the other hand.
     
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,085 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,847
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I never enable VSync, only because I am lazy, dont wnat to enable it for the most demanding games cayse often if you are doing less than 60FPS you will get a performance hit and I can be bothered to change it either in game or control panel when moving between say Assasins Creed and something a little less demanding like Sourse.
     
  12. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    thats why i moved to nvidia, cus their drivers make it so easy to do different settings for different games! :D
     
  13. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    I never get Horizontal tearing in css or any source game when my framerate goes above my refresh rate, some games have more tearing than others despite framerates and refresh rates.
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,288 (10.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,931
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If his monitor doesn't support it, he's in for trouble.
     
  15. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Shouldn't be selectable, unless he forces it, then I wouldnt like to say what would happen...
     
  16. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,153 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    Thanks not all games do this i remember farcry did this but most game are capped at 60FPS max , but why games like COD4 can run at 100FPS and don't get any lines?
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2008
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    maybe your just not noticing them? Some games are worse than others. HL2 is awful without Vsync, but its really hard to see tears (that how you spell it? not :cry: lol) on crysis.
     
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,153 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    yer sucks though i think in games like COH running more than 60fps makes the game run alot better
     
  19. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,312 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    373

    This is only true for SOME games and higher demanding isn't necessarily the prescription.

    Vsync in AoC, Crysis and Mass Effect do nothing to the framerates when using GTX 280, 9800 GTX and 8800 ULTRA and I think there's plenty of other cards that fare the same.


    I like the divisibles some games use as already mentioned in this thread. Crysis does it. When I'm rolling around 32 or 33, it caps at 30.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page