1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why have multiple rails on PSU's?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TLH, Mar 18, 2007.

  1. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    This Silverstone Olympia OP650 I'm looking at getting has one big 54amp 12v rail.
    I can see the point of 2 rails,one for cpu and one for the rest.That makes sense,putting dedicated power to the main component of a system,but what is the big deal about having 3 or even 4 rails,surely the components have to shove the same initial power down the tubes to start with so what's the point in splitting it up?
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,028 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
  3. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,635 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Yes to sum it up so you don't read all the replies, I was pretty big into studying psu's at that time and learned a lot! Very very few psu's are truly independent multi rail, in fact its close to non. The big push on them was for safety with the early P4s that were overly power hungry. Although in the ultra high end where they have multiple transformers there are just god sends, they are huge, heavy, and VERY expensive, also pretty rare by all means. Really the multi rails psu for the average or even 99% of the high end gaming systems will go back to single rail.

    Both work fine, but single rail is definitely easier for the average person to figure out ifs its going to work or not. If you are end up with a multi rail and it wont quite hold, and you "KNOW" what you are doing, you can take it apart and solder all the rails together and make it one big single rail in turn.
  4. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Well I'm not sure I'd want to take apart a brand new psu to do that anyway,even if I was that electrically minded.I'm doing the research now so that I get what I need straight off the bat.I'm not about to shell out close on £100 for something that won't do the job.

    The reason I bought it up was I read something about the atx spec somewhere that single rails shouldn't really be more than 20amps.Now that sort of went against what I thought already as the Tagan TG480 u01 I already have has 28amps on the 12v rail.

    Ah,here it is http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1036

    Specifically this paragraph.
    To be honest I nodded off while reading that other thread last night.lol.It was gone 2am.So I'll have another read after some grub and a cuppa.

    The other psu I was considering before I spotted that OP650 was a Silverstone Strider ST75F 750W.I like this because of the modular aspect and it still comes in under a ton.It has plenty of juice for the 12v's to use (max of 648w or 54w) which is the same as the op650 as far as I can see,just split up instead.

    Now both have a real good Jonny Guru review but the ST75F gets a little shaky at high loads while the ripple on the OP650 is virtually non existent,20mv compared to the ST75F's 75mv.Even 75mv isn't close to being bad though,both psu's have good quality components I presume (I'm not up on good caps),the only thing I have to seperate the two is the modularity and rails questions.Jonny seems to have proved that the Strider has seperate rails so which psu is better?
  5. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Seasonic M12 500W / 600W / 700W are advertised as quad-rail but they really have one big rail because there's no over current protection associated with Intel ATX12V spec.
    48A for 12V (576W), and rock solid voltages. :toast:

    Check the review at jonnyguru if you haven't already.
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,635 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I don't know much about the OP650, but that Silverstone will be enough power to suffice just about any system out there.

    Largon- the reason they are quad rail and more like 1 single rail is because they combine them at the end where they output to the cables. Weather it was done on accident or purpose, thats the reason. Multi rail or single rail you can't combine them without physically connecting the wires.

    As for taking apart a new psu, I understand your thoughts there, personally it doesn't bother me, but I can relate to as much.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page