1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

why is my 3dmark '06 score soooo low!?!?!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by quasar923, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. quasar923 Guest

    Ok i just built this new comp listed in my specs. i built it last friday, had an OS installed this past sunday. I am using XP 64 bit. anyways my 3dmark '06 score was only 11,714 marks, my cpu score was 3,618 OCed at 3.87ghz. then today i ran 3dmark at cpu stock speeds of 3ghz and i got 1,000 points lower on the cpu score and total score all together which makes sense, just trying to give more info. i have CCC 8.8 beta installed. My friend whose comp i helped build (fafa2121 here on tpu) gets 12,300 and hes only has a e6750 which was OCed to about 3.6ghz, powercolor HD3870, Asus x38 mobo, 2 gigs of crucial balistix pc 8000 (1000mhz), and a 700 watt psu. What is holding me back? are the drivers for the 4850 not efficient yet?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,047 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    543
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    What drivers are you using?

    My E8400 @ 3.6Ghz, HD4870 at stock with 4Gbs of 1000Mhz DDR2 got 14k.
     
  3. quasar923 Guest

    Driver Packaging Version 8.52.2-080722a-066078E-ATI
    Provider ATI Technologies Inc.
    2D Driver Version 6.14.10.6844
    2D Driver File Path System/CurrentControlSet/Control/Video/{D3A56B67-0910-4BBE-A3EB-077A2E8E395C}/0000
    Direct3D Version 6.14.10.0603
    OpenGL Version 6.14.10.7869
    Catalyst® Control Center Version 2008.0722.2157.37438
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. quasar923 Guest

    are those the proper drivers?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. proletariandan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    Don't feel too bad - I didn't even break 9000 with my 4850 on a 2.4GHz X2.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,058 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,171
    8.7's are the proper drivers but the 8.8 beta's should work almost as good. What are your temps(idle and load)? What are your sm2 and sm3/hdr scores in 3dmark06?
     
  7. exo17 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    62 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Malta, Europe
    afaik 3dmark isn't very kind when it comes to the HD4800 series. I could be wrong. But still, that wouldn't explain the 1000 point drop.
     
  8. quasar923 Guest

    my gpu idle temps are around 55C and load about 68C

    cpu is 40C idle when OCed to 3.87, and i havnt taken load temps on cpu because i dont have any games installed yet. but ill guess its mid 50s C*
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,047 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    543
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    8.7 uses older display drivers than the 8.7 and 8.8 betas. 8.7 uses 8.152, and 8.7 and 8.8 betas use 8.52
     
  10. quasar923 Guest

    so then why is my score soo low compaired to my friends comp which is obviously infearior to mine hardware wise.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    I think the chipset is to blame...p45 vs. x38. I personally don't know what the benches between them are, but that is my guess.
     
  12. quasar923 Guest

    hmm so the p45 is shit compaired to the x38?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Only in crossfire (p45 is two 8x, while x38 is two 16x). But I doubt there is any difference in single card.
     
  14. quasar923 Guest

    oh well he only has one 3870 so why would he get a higher score with a worse gpu, ram, and cpu?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Its either poor drivers, or a bottleneck somewhere...perhaps gcard and chipset.
     
  16. quasar923 Guest

    how is a 4850 holding back my cpu? and whats wrong with the p45 chipset? and also whats the diff between ich9R and 10R?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. quasar923 Guest

    should i set the fsb-NB strap to 400mhz instead of auto?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. mas0n New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    dallas
    This series does just fine in 3DMark06. I'm getting ~18,000 with rig in specs.

    quasar923, I think you should attempt to rule out a driver problem.

    Uninstall ATI drivers and CCC. Reboot.
    Delete C:\Documents and Settings\%USERNAME%\Application Data\ATI
    Delete C:\Documents and Settings\%USERNAME%\Local Settings\Application Data\ATI
    Delete C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ATI
    Delete C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Technologies
    Install and Run Driver Cleaner Reboot
    Install 8.7 drivers, don't mess with the beta drivers until you clear this up. Reboot
    Test and Report

    Also, I don't have time to look. What does ORB suggest you should be getting?
     
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,911 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,906
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    by any chance, is your friend using one of the 3870 with 1 gig of memory on it. That could explain why he scores higher
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    1 gig of ram on the card doesn't make it faster... just more buffer room for high resolution 1600 x 1200 +
     
  21. quasar923 Guest

    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,911 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,906
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    it may not nessarily make it faster, but it would improve it's benchmark score.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,058 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,171

    Follow this advice!^^^

    Use Orthos to test your CPU temps under load.
     
  24. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    no sir. especially since the 1gb version is GDDR3 vs the 512mb version running GDDR4. I have tested all of these cards. :cool:
     
  25. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,911 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,906
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    I stand corrected. I missed the ddr3 and ddr4 difference between the two cards.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)